{
  "title": "SwapSift crypto exchange data: South Africa — Kraken",
  "description": "Availability, Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) licence status, fees, ZAR deposit and withdrawal rails, USDT networks and KYC for 7 crypto exchanges serving South Africa, each value with its official source, verification date and re-check date.",
  "url": "https://swapsift.com/en-za/data/exchanges/kraken.json",
  "market": {
    "id": "za",
    "name": "South Africa",
    "currency": "ZAR",
    "regulator": "Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)"
  },
  "license": {
    "name": "CC BY 4.0",
    "url": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
    "note": "Compiled data © SwapSift, licensed under CC BY 4.0: reuse is allowed with attribution. Text quoted from exchanges, regulators and other third parties (source titles and notes) remains theirs."
  },
  "attribution": "SwapSift (https://swapsift.com/en-za/data/)",
  "methodology": "https://swapsift.com/en/methodology/",
  "generatedAt": "2026-10-07",
  "dataVerifiedFrom": "2026-09-27",
  "dataVerifiedThrough": "2026-10-04",
  "nextTransitionAt": "2026-11-04",
  "fields": {
    "availability": "Whether residents of the market can open an account: available, restricted or unavailable.",
    "licenseStatus": "Status with the market regulator as read in its register: licensed, registered, pending, not-licensed or not-found-in-register.",
    "licenseReference": "The licence reference (for South Africa the FSCA FSP number) and its category.",
    "products": "Products offered to residents (spot, futures, margin, staking, earn, p2p, otc, savings).",
    "fiatCurrencies": "Fiat currencies the account can hold or trade.",
    "depositMethods": "Ways to deposit fiat money.",
    "withdrawalMethods": "Ways to withdraw fiat money.",
    "fees.makerPercent": "Entry-tier maker fee in percent on the main fiat pairs; not applicable where prices are quoted instead of traded on an order book.",
    "fees.takerPercent": "Entry-tier taker fee in percent on the main fiat pairs (same scope as the maker fee).",
    "fees.tradingFeeNote": "How the trading fee is structured (tiers, pair classes, quote pricing).",
    "fees.fiatDepositFee": "Fee for depositing fiat money, per rail where it differs.",
    "fees.fiatWithdrawalFee": "Fee for withdrawing fiat money to a bank account.",
    "fees.cryptoWithdrawalFeeNote": "How crypto withdrawal fees are set (fixed per asset, dynamic or quoted).",
    "kycSummary": "Identity documents and verification levels required.",
    "facts.pricingModel": "order-book, quote-based (the cost sits in the quoted price) or hybrid.",
    "facts.feeSchedule": "Entry-tier maker/taker per pair class (for example crypto/ZAR, stablecoin/ZAR, crypto/crypto).",
    "facts.zarDeposits": "Rand can be deposited from a South African bank account.",
    "facts.zarWithdrawals": "Rand can be withdrawn to a South African bank account.",
    "facts.spotTrading": "Spot trading is offered.",
    "facts.derivativesTrading": "Futures, options or margin products are offered.",
    "facts.instantBuy": "Pricing of the one-tap buy/sell screen, where one exists.",
    "facts.depositFees": "Rand deposit rails with their fees and limits.",
    "facts.withdrawalFees": "Rand withdrawal rails with their fees and limits.",
    "facts.minimumDeposit": "Smallest rand deposit accepted, when published.",
    "facts.minimumWithdrawal": "Smallest rand withdrawal accepted, when published.",
    "facts.supportedNetworks": "Networks the exchange publishes withdrawal fees for, and whether the fees are dynamic.",
    "facts.feeVariesByPair": "Whether entry-tier rates differ by pair class.",
    "facts.usdtPairs": "Markets quoted in USDT against the local currency.",
    "facts.usdtDepositNetworks": "Networks on which USDT can be deposited.",
    "facts.usdtWithdrawalFees": "USDT withdrawal fee and minimum per network (fixed or variable).",
    "facts.usdtMinimumWithdrawal": "Smallest USDT withdrawal, when published.",
    "facts.zarDepositProcessing": "How long a rand deposit takes to reflect, as the exchange states it.",
    "facts.depositReferenceRule": "The payment reference a rand deposit must carry.",
    "facts.zarWithdrawalProcessing": "When rand withdrawals are processed, as the exchange states it.",
    "facts.wrongNetworkRecovery": "What the exchange publishes about recovering crypto sent on the wrong network.",
    "facts.btcZarMarket": "Whether a BTC/ZAR order book is trading, halted or not listed (a rand purchase is then quoted, or not offered)."
  },
  "exchange": {
    "id": "kraken",
    "name": "Kraken",
    "officialUrl": "https://www.kraken.com/",
    "profileUrl": null,
    "dataUrl": "https://swapsift.com/en-za/data/exchanges/kraken.json",
    "verificationStatus": "partially-verified",
    "lastVerifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
    "regulator": "Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)",
    "facts": [
      {
        "field": "availability",
        "category": "availability",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "No official page states availability for South Africa in so many words: South Africa is absent from Kraken’s prohibited-regions list and its verification pages mention South African residents, but Kraken has no ZAR funding rail or South African entity."
      },
      {
        "field": "licenseStatus",
        "category": "regulation",
        "value": "not-found-in-register",
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-09-27",
        "staleFrom": "2026-12-27",
        "sourceUrl": "https://www.fsca.co.za/_api/cr3ad_regulatoryframes(94942cc4-0238-f111-88b3-000d3a64fb06)/cr3ad_document/$value",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": "2026-03",
        "note": "No Kraken, Payward or Crypto Facilities entity appears in the FSCA list of licensed CASPs titled March 2026, and Kraken’s own licensing page listed no South African authorisation when read on 6 September 2026. Current status has not been independently confirmed."
      },
      {
        "field": "licenseReference",
        "category": "regulation",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "No FSCA reference exists for Kraken or Payward."
      },
      {
        "field": "products",
        "category": "products",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Kraken offers spot, margin, futures, staking and OTC globally, but which of these South African residents may use was not confirmed on an official page."
      },
      {
        "field": "fiatCurrencies",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": [
          "USD",
          "EUR",
          "CAD",
          "AUD",
          "GBP",
          "CHF",
          "ARS",
          "BRL",
          "MXN"
        ],
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-19",
        "sourceUrl": "https://support.kraken.com/articles/360000381846-cash-deposit-options-fees-minimums-and-processing-times-",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "ZAR is not a supported deposit or withdrawal currency; whether South African residents can use the USD SWIFT rails is not stated."
      },
      {
        "field": "depositMethods",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": [
          "crypto"
        ],
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-19",
        "sourceUrl": "https://support.kraken.com/articles/360000381846-cash-deposit-options-fees-minimums-and-processing-times-",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "No ZAR deposit option exists; funding from South Africa would have to be in crypto (or a foreign currency rail whose regional availability is not stated)."
      },
      {
        "field": "withdrawalMethods",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": [
          "crypto"
        ],
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-19",
        "sourceUrl": "https://support.kraken.com/articles/360000423043-cash-withdrawal-options-fees-minimums-and-processing-times-",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "No ZAR withdrawal option exists: Kraken’s cash-withdrawal article lists USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, CHF, ARS, BRL and MXN only; crypto withdrawals carry a per-asset fee."
      },
      {
        "field": "fees.makerPercent",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": 0.4,
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-04",
        "sourceUrl": "https://www.kraken.com/features/fee-schedule",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Spot crypto Tier 1 (USD 0+ 30-day volume)."
      },
      {
        "field": "fees.takerPercent",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": 0.8,
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-04",
        "sourceUrl": "https://www.kraken.com/features/fee-schedule",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Spot crypto Tier 1 (USD 0+ 30-day volume)."
      },
      {
        "field": "fees.tradingFeeNote",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": "Volume-tiered spot fees from 0.40 % maker / 0.80 % taker at Tier 1 (USD 0+) down to 0.00 % / 0.05 % at the top Pro tier (USD 500m+); Tier 2 (USD 2.5k+) 0.30 % / 0.60 %, USD 5m+ 0.02 % / 0.12 %. The tier is the best of 30-day spot volume, futures volume or assets held on Kraken. FX pairs, pegged tokens and pairs with a stablecoin as the base currency (e.g. USDT/USD) pay 0.20 % / 0.20 %; pairs quoted in a stablecoin (e.g. BTC/USDT) use the spot schedule. Margin trades add opening and rollover fees.",
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-04",
        "sourceUrl": "https://www.kraken.com/features/fee-schedule",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": null
      },
      {
        "field": "fees.fiatDepositFee",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Not applicable to ZAR: Kraken has no rand deposit rail."
      },
      {
        "field": "fees.fiatWithdrawalFee",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Not applicable to ZAR: Kraken has no rand withdrawal rail."
      },
      {
        "field": "fees.cryptoWithdrawalFeeNote",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": "Each withdrawal has a minimum and a fee set per asset and network; fees may change, and the final fee is shown at confirmation.",
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2026-11-04",
        "sourceUrl": "https://support.kraken.com/articles/360000767986-cryptocurrency-withdrawal-fees-and-minimums",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": null
      },
      {
        "field": "kycSummary",
        "category": "kyc",
        "value": "Must be 18+ and reside in a supported area; provide e-mail, full name, date of birth, phone, address, occupation, a valid government ID, proof of address and a face photo (explicitly required for South African residents and anyone funding with a South African bank). Higher limits require a KYC questionnaire.",
        "status": "verified",
        "verifiedAt": "2026-10-04",
        "staleFrom": "2027-01-03",
        "sourceUrl": "https://support.kraken.com/articles/201352206-verification-level-requirements",
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Requirements table from the verification article (updated 1 October 2026); the face-photo rule for South African residents and South African bank funding is in the document-requirements article (updated 19 August 2026)."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.pricingModel",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Confirm whether trades are priced on an order book or by quote."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.feeSchedule",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check the official fee schedule per pair category."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.zarDeposits",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Confirm ZAR deposit support on an official page."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.zarWithdrawals",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Confirm ZAR withdrawal support on an official page."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.spotTrading",
        "category": "products",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Confirm from official product pages."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.derivativesTrading",
        "category": "products",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Confirm from official product pages."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.instantBuy",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check whether an instant/simple-buy product and fee are published."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.depositFees",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check ZAR deposit fees per method."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.withdrawalFees",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check ZAR withdrawal fees per method."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.minimumDeposit",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check the official deposit page."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.minimumWithdrawal",
        "category": "rails",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check the official withdrawal page."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.supportedNetworks",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check the official crypto withdrawal fee table."
      },
      {
        "field": "facts.feeVariesByPair",
        "category": "fees",
        "value": null,
        "status": "research-required",
        "verifiedAt": null,
        "staleFrom": null,
        "sourceUrl": null,
        "sourceTitle": null,
        "sourceAsOf": null,
        "note": "Check the official fee schedule."
      }
    ]
  }
}
