Data profile
Ovex in South Africa: availability, FSCA status, ZAR fees and KYC
Ovex for South Africans: FSCA licence FSP 53922, 0 % RFQ fee with the cost in the spread, free EFT deposits from R98, R60 flat ZAR withdrawals from R100.
Direct answer
Ovex is run by Ovex (Pty) Limited, a South African company listed as FSP 53922 on the FSCA's March 2026 list. It sells crypto at an instant quoted price with a 0 % trading fee, so the real cost is the spread inside the quote, which Ovex does not publish as a number. Rand deposits are free (R98 minimum), a rand withdrawal costs a flat R60 (R100 minimum), and full verification comes before any deposit.
As of 27 September 2026. Sources: List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)); Fees, spreads & limits (Ovex); Verification levels explained (Ovex Help Centre)
Key facts (verified 3 October 2026)
- Ovex (Pty) Limited is on the FSCA's March 2026 list as FSP 53922, Category I.
- No direct trading fee: RFQ buy/sell is 0 % of trade value and the cost is the spread inside the quoted price, which Ovex does not publish as a number.
- ZAR deposits by bank EFT are free with a R98 minimum; ZAR withdrawals cost a flat R60 with a R100 minimum, to a verified South African bank account in your own name.
- Full verification (Level 3) is needed to deposit and trade; the fees page lists ZAR withdrawal limits of R0 at Levels 1–2, R50 million at Level 3 and unlimited at Level 4.
Partially verified· verified on 3 October 2026

This is a data profile, not a hands-on review. We only describe what we could verify from official sources.
Availability in South Africa
- Availability
- availableVerified
General terms (v1.9, 15 June 2026) contract South African and CMA residents, and anyone trading ZAR pairs, with Ovex (Pty) Ltd (company number 2018/218598/07).
Source: storage.googleapis.com (opens in a new tab) (document dated 15 June 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 2 January 2027 - Fiat currencies
- ZARVerified
Ovex lists other African currencies plus EUR and USD; its terms (v1.9) place South African and CMA residents, and anyone trading ZAR pairs, with Ovex (Pty) Ltd, and South African users transact in ZAR.
Source: support.ovex.io (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - ZAR deposits
- YesVerified
Bank EFT with a unique reference; zero deposit fees on all rails.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - ZAR withdrawals
- YesVerified
Only to a verified South African bank account in your own name (terms).
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
Regulation and licensing
- Regulator
- Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)
- Licence status
- licensedVerified
Listed in the regulator register dated March 2026. Current status has not been independently reconfirmed since that list.
Entry 202 of the FSCA list of licensed CASPs titled March 2026: OVEX (PTY) LIMITED, Category I (intermediary services).
Source: fsca.co.za (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · verified on 27 September 2026 · re-check due 27 December 2026 - Licence reference
- FSP 53922 (FSCA, Category I); NCR credit provider NCRCP15552Verified
Listed in the regulator register dated March 2026. Current status has not been independently reconfirmed since that list.
Matches entry 202 of the FSCA register titled March 2026 (read 27 September 2026); NCR number as stated by Ovex.
Source: OVEX general terms of service (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · retrieved 27 September 2026 · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 2 January 2027
What the licence list shows and how to check it yourself: FSCA-licensed crypto exchanges in South Africa.
ZAR deposit methods
Bank electronic funds transfer is the only fiat payment method in the terms (v1.9, clause 4.12), and cash payments are not permitted; the deposit article adds the unique SN reference.
Source: storage.googleapis.com (opens in a new tab) (document dated 15 June 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026| Method | Fee | Minimum / limit | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank EFT | Zero deposit fees | Min R98 | — |
- Minimum deposit
- R98 (ZAR)VerifiedSource: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
ZAR withdrawal methods
Fiat is paid only to a verified South African bank account in your own name.
Source: storage.googleapis.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026| Method | Fee | Minimum / limit | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZAR bank withdrawal | R60 flat per withdrawal | Min R100 · Limit Level 1–2: R0; Level 3: R50m; Level 4: unlimited (ZAR-denominated withdrawal limits) | — |
- Minimum withdrawal
- R100 (ZAR)VerifiedSource: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- Crypto withdrawal networks and fees
- Flat per-asset, per-network withdrawal fees and minimums published for 62 assets (e.g. BTC 0.00015; ETH 0.0025; USDT 8.0 on Ethereum, 5.0 on Tron).VerifiedSource: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
USDT (Tether)
Networks and fees as published by the platform. A variable fee is never shown as a number; a network missing from this list is unknown, not unsupported.
- USDT trading pairs
- USDT/ZAR (quote-based)Verified
Ovex has no order book; USDT is bought and sold against rand on an instant quote whose cost is the spread, so no maker/taker rate exists.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - USDT deposit networks
- Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20)Verified
Deposit minimum 10 USDT on each network.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - USDT withdrawal fee by network
- Ethereum (ERC-20): 8.0 USDT · Tron (TRC-20): 5.0 USDTVerified
Flat per-asset, per-network fee regardless of amount (support article "What are the withdrawal fees on OVEX?"). Official pages disagree on networks: the crypto-withdrawal article accepts TRC-20, ERC-20 and Bitcoin, while the withdrawal FAQ says only Bitcoin and ERC-20 withdrawals clear; confirm the network on the withdrawal screen.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026 - USDT minimum withdrawal
- 10 USDT (Ethereum and Tron)VerifiedSource: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
Deposit and withdrawal troubleshooting facts
Processing windows, reference rules and recovery policy exactly as the platform publishes them. Unknown means the platform publishes nothing, not that no rule exists.
- ZAR deposit processing time
- Some fiat deposits take up to 2 working days to process; Ovex also says most deposits take a minimum of 48 hours, excluding weekends and public holidays, to allocate.Partially verified
Generic fiat-deposit article that uses ZAR as its example; no rand-specific schedule is published.
Source: I have made a fiat deposit but the funds are not reflecting in my account? (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - Deposit reference rule
- Use your unique SN reference as the beneficiary reference on every EFT; Ovex states that without it the deposit cannot be matched to an account.VerifiedSource: How do I deposit fiat currency into my OVEX account (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- ZAR withdrawal processing schedule
- UnknownUnknown
- Wrong-network / wrong-address recovery policy
- Withdrawals to a wrong wallet address cannot be recovered; for deposits, Ovex only warns that choosing the wrong network risks loss of funds and publishes no recovery process.VerifiedSource: How to withdraw cryptocurrency on OVEX (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026
Trading fees
- Maker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier)
- Not applicableNot applicable
Quote-based pricing: Ovex publishes no maker/taker schedule. The RFQ buy/sell fee is 0 % of trade value and the trading cost is included in the quoted spread.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026 - Taker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier)
- Not applicableNot applicable
Quote-based pricing: no maker/taker schedule; compare the quoted price against the market before accepting.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026 - Instant / simple buy
- No explicit fee; the cost is the spread in the quote (variable)VerifiedSource: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
- Fees differ by pair class
- NoPartially verified
A single 0 % RFQ fee applies; Ovex says the spread inside a quote is variable and depends on volume traded, and publishes no spread table.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
KYC requirements
Document and capture steps from "How to verify your personal account"; the USD 300 figure from the withdrawal FAQ (both read 3 October 2026).
Source: Verification levels explained (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 2 January 2027Products
- Products
- Spot, OTC, EarnVerified
Instant request-for-quote (RFQ) buy/sell rather than a published order book; an OTC desk; an interest account that its product page calls "South African regulated" while making access subject to eligibility review.
Source: ovex.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026 - Spot trading
- YesPartially verified
Buying and selling is by instant request-for-quote (RFQ), not a published order book.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026 - Derivatives (futures / margin)
- NoPartially verified
No derivatives product is published; absence on the page is not a statement by Ovex.
Source: Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026 - Beginner friendly
- YesVerified
Editorial judgement per our methodology: FSCA-licensed South African entity, free ZAR deposits and instant quotes with no order book to learn; the trade-off is that the spread, not a visible fee, is the cost.
Source: ovex.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 6 September 2026 · re-check due 6 March 2027
We have no referral agreement with this exchange. Visit it directly from its official website.
Who Ovex may suit
- Users who want a published, fixed USDT withdrawal fee per network rather than a fee quoted only at confirmation.
- Users who fund with an ordinary EFT and want a verified free rand deposit.
- Users who want a provider that appears on the FSCA list of licensed crypto asset service providers.
- First-time buyers who want a simple, locally licensed rand on-ramp (our editorial beginner criteria).
Who Ovex may not suit
- Users who specifically need a USDT/ZAR spot pair with a verified entry-tier rate.
Advantages
- FSCA-licensed South African entity (FSP 53922) with zero deposit fees on all rails.
- Quote-based pricing with no separate trading fee (the cost is the spread), and a dedicated OTC desk for large trades.
- Flat, published crypto withdrawal fees per asset.
Disadvantages
- No order book or maker/taker schedule: the real cost is the spread in the quoted price, which you must compare yourself.
- Only bank EFT for ZAR deposits (no instant EFT or card), and a R60 flat fee on every ZAR withdrawal.
- Full verification is required before any deposit, and help-centre articles disagree on withdrawal batch times.
What we could not verify yet
- Founding year is not stated officially (company number 2018/218598/07; help centre says "operational for over seven years").
- Whether the interest account is available to South African residents and what fees apply.
- Whether an order-book spot market with maker/taker rates still exists for ZAR pairs.
- The OTC desk minimum order: the fees page shows none, the OTC page (read 3 October 2026) states R250,000 with exceptions case by case, and the OTC FAQ states a $20,000 minimum block size; the official figures conflict.
Data confidence
Official-source coverage: HighData confidence measures how much of our core checklist is documented on current official sources. It is not an exchange quality score, a safety score, a hands-on test result or a recommendation.
- Core areas documented
- 6 / 6
- Availability
- Verified 3 October 2026
- Regulatory status
- Verified 3 October 2026
- Trading fees
- Verified 3 October 2026
- ZAR deposits
- Verified 3 October 2026
- ZAR withdrawals
- Verified 3 October 2026
- KYC requirements
- Verified 3 October 2026
- Affiliate terms
- Unknown
Unresolved questions
- Founding year is not stated officially (company number 2018/218598/07; help centre says "operational for over seven years").
- Whether the interest account is available to South African residents and what fees apply.
- Whether an order-book spot market with maker/taker rates still exists for ZAR pairs.
- The OTC desk minimum order: the fees page shows none, the OTC page (read 3 October 2026) states R250,000 with exceptions case by case, and the OTC FAQ states a $20,000 minimum block size; the official figures conflict.
Hands-on testing: Not independently tested yet.
High means at least five of the six core areas are documented on current official sources with no conflicting core field. It does not mean every question is answered, that the exchange is safe or good, or that we have tested it. How data confidence is computed
The facts on this page, with sources and dates, as open data (CC BY 4.0): JSON · all exchanges and field definitions
Who operates it and what we read
Ovex (Pty) Ltd (company number 2018/218598/07) contracts with South African and CMA residents under its general terms (v1.9, 15 June 2026). Its fees page, terms and help-centre articles were re-read on 3 October 2026, and the FSCA entry on the regulator’s list titled March 2026 on 27 September 2026. Because there is no maker/taker schedule, Ovex is excluded from our fee rankings and from the fee calculator presets rather than being scored on a 0 % that hides a spread. We have not opened an account.
Who it may suit
Ovex may suit a South African who wants to buy or sell at a single quoted price without learning an order book, who values zero deposit fees, or who needs an OTC desk for large trades. Its per-asset withdrawal fees are flat and published, which helps if you move crypto out regularly.
It is a weaker fit for anyone who wants to know the exact trading cost in advance; compare the quoted price against the market before accepting. It also suits you less if you need an instant deposit rail or card (only bank EFT is stated), want derivatives (none are published) or want to look around before verifying (full verification is required first).
South Africa availability
The general terms state that South African and CMA residents, and anyone trading ZAR pairs, contract with Ovex (Pty) Ltd. South African users transact in ZAR; the fees page also lists other African currencies for non-South-African users.
Regulatory status
Entry 202 of the FSCA’s March 2026 list shows OVEX (PTY) LIMITED, FSP 53922, Category I. The terms also cite NCR credit-provider registration NCRCP15552. The fees page describes the group as regulated by the FSCA, FCA, AMF and as an MSB; only the FSCA entry was checked on a regulator page.
ZAR deposit methods and fees
Bank EFT is the only fiat payment method in the terms, which do not permit cash, and the deposit article adds that every EFT must carry your unique SN reference. Deposit fees are zero on all rails. The ZAR row of the fees table shows a R98 deposit minimum. Processing time is not stated on the deposit article; a generic fiat-deposit article says some deposits take up to 2 working days and most at least 48 hours to allocate, excluding weekends and public holidays.
ZAR withdrawal methods and fees
Fiat is paid only to a verified South African bank account in your own name. The fee is a flat R60 per ZAR withdrawal regardless of amount, with a R100 minimum. ZAR-denominated withdrawal limits depend on verification level: R0 at Levels 1–2, R50 million at Level 3, unlimited at Level 4; for crypto withdrawals the same rand limits are converted at the market price. The withdrawal-times article lists four weekday ZAR batches (09:00, 11:00, 13:30 and 15:30), while the fiat-withdrawal article lists three (09:00, 11:00 and 15:00).
Trading fees
RFQ Buy/Sell: 0 % of trade value. Ovex states that it does not charge a direct OTC trading fee and instead charges a spread on the price; the spread shown in your trade history is described as indicative. There is no maker/taker schedule and no published spread table, so the effective cost is unknown until you see a quote. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per asset and network, for example 0.00015 BTC, 0.0025 ETH, 8.0 USDT on Ethereum and 5.0 USDT on Tron, and under the Travel Rule every crypto withdrawal to an external wallet needs the recipient’s name and type.
KYC overview
Full verification (Level 3) is what lets you deposit, withdraw and trade. It needs real-time capture of a physical ID document with facial recognition and a recent proof of address (bank statement, council bill, credit card statement, lease, phone or utility bill, or tax return). You also give your ID number, date of birth, source of funds, tax number and cellphone number. Ovex’s pages conflict on unverified accounts: the verification-levels page says Levels 1–2 cannot deposit or withdraw and the fees page sets their ZAR withdrawal limit at R0, but the withdrawal FAQ allows USD 300 of lifetime withdrawals before KYC.
Supported products
Instant RFQ buy/sell, an OTC desk with a variable, volume-dependent spread, and an interest account, advertised as “South African regulated”, whose access is subject to eligibility review. No order book, futures or margin product is published.
Limitations
The spread is the fee, and it is not published; the only way to know your cost is to compare the quote with the market. Only bank EFT is available for rand, and every withdrawal costs R60. Verification comes before any deposit. Help-centre articles disagree on withdrawal batch times. The licence is verified only to the FSCA’s March 2026 list.
What we could not verify
- The typical size of the RFQ spread.
- The OTC desk minimum order: the OTC page says R250,000 (exceptions case by case) and the OTC FAQ says USD 20,000.
- Whether the interest account is available to South African residents and what fees apply.
- Whether an order-book market with maker/taker rates still exists for ZAR pairs.
- The founding year (the help centre says “operational for over seven years”).
Next steps
If you want a published maker/taker rate instead of a spread, read the VALR and Luno profiles. The crypto exchange fees in South Africa explained guide shows why a 0 % fee can still cost more than a 0.35 % one. The withdrawal guide compares the R60 flat fee with the other platforms’ rand withdrawals. To see where it sits among the other platforms by situation, read best crypto exchanges in South Africa.
Frequently asked questions
Is Ovex FSCA licensed?
Yes. Ovex (Pty) Limited appears as entry 202 on the FSCA's March 2026 list of licensed crypto asset service providers, FSP 53922, Category I (intermediary services).
What are Ovex's fees?
There is no direct trading fee: request-for-quote buy and sell orders cost 0 % of trade value and the cost is the spread in the quoted price. Deposits are free on all rails; a ZAR withdrawal costs a flat R60 with a R100 minimum.
Do I need to verify before depositing on Ovex?
Yes. Ovex requires full Level 3 verification, with a live capture of a physical ID, facial recognition, proof of address, ID number, source of funds and tax number, before any deposit, withdrawal or trade. ZAR withdrawal limits are R0 until Level 3.
How we compare
We compare availability, licensing, fees, deposit and withdrawal methods and KYC requirements using official exchange documentation and regulator registers. Affiliate relationships never affect ranking or wording.
Risk warning
Crypto assets are volatile and you may lose all the money you put in. Platform availability, fees, licences and terms can change at any time and the information on this page may become outdated. Always verify terms directly with the provider before acting. This website does not provide personal financial advice.
Sources
Primary sources checked for this page. Accessed dates are shown next to each link.
- List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- Fees, spreads & limits (opens in a new tab)
- OVEX exchange general terms of service (v1.9, PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- How to deposit fiat currency on OVEX (opens in a new tab)
- What are the withdrawal fees on OVEX? (opens in a new tab)
- How to verify your account (opens in a new tab)
- I have made a fiat deposit but the funds are not reflecting in my account? (opens in a new tab)
- Verification levels explained (opens in a new tab)
- Withdrawal FAQs (opens in a new tab)
- OVEX withdrawal times (opens in a new tab)
- How to withdraw fiat currency on OVEX (opens in a new tab)
- Withdrawal compliance update for South African users (opens in a new tab)
- OTC Desk (opens in a new tab)
- OVEX OTC Desk FAQs (opens in a new tab)
- Who is OVEX? (opens in a new tab)