Comparison
Bitget vs Binance for South Africans: licence, rand rails, fees and USDT
Bitget and Binance compared for South Africans: FSCA position, rand deposits and withdrawals, USDT/ZAR order book vs quoted conversion, fees and USDT networks.
Direct answer
Bitget and Binance are both offshore exchanges with rand bank rails, and neither is confirmed to hold South African accounts through a company on the FSCA's list. Binance runs a USDT/ZAR order book and rand P2P, and no Binance entity appears on the FSCA's March 2026 list. Bitget has no rand pairs, so rand is converted at a quote, and its subsidiary Parsa is on the March 2026 list.
As of 27 September 2026. Sources: List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)); Spot API: exchangeInfo (USDTZAR, BTCZAR, ETHZAR, BNBZAR, BUSDZAR) (Binance (api.binance.com)); Spot API: public symbols (Bitget (api.bitget.com))
Key facts (verified 4 October 2026)
- No Binance entity is on the FSCA's March 2026 list; Bitget Group's subsidiary Parsa Financial Services is on the March 2026 list, but the operator named in Bitget's Terms is not.
- Binance trades USDT/ZAR on an order book (BTC/ZAR, ETH/ZAR and BNB/ZAR were halted on 4 October 2026); Bitget has no rand pairs and converts rand at a quote.
- Rand in: Binance takes linked-bank (Stitch), bank-transfer (EFT), Absa Pay and card or Apple Pay deposits with no published fee; Bitget takes an online-banking deposit with a R180 minimum and a 1.4 % fee (its Help Center, February 2025).
- Both publish a global 0.10 % maker/taker spot rate (0.075 % at Binance with BNB; 0.20 % at Bitget on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT) and no South Africa schedule.
- USDT networks on the global lists: 19 at Binance, 12 at Bitget; the smallest withdrawal is 3 to 5 USDT at Binance and 10 USDT at Bitget.
Partially verified· verified on 4 October 2026
How we make money
SwapSift may receive compensation if you sign up for Bitget through this referral link and meet Bitget’s current programme eligibility requirements. This does not affect how exchanges are ranked or reviewed. Commissions and referral rewards never affect how we rank or describe exchanges.

| Criteria | Bitget | Binance |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | Available Verified — South Africa is not among the Prohibited Countries in Bitget’s Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026), "ZAR: South Africa" is listed as a supported fiat deposit / withdrawal region, and Bitget’s South Africa buying page states the platform is "legally accessible in South Africa". There is no South Africa-specific site or help section; the contracting entity is BTG Technology Holdings Limited (Terms governed by Hong Kong law). Availability of every product is not implied: see products. Source: Which Countries or Regions Support Bank Deposits on Bitget? (2025-02-20) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 January 2027 | Available Verified — Binance runs a South Africa site (en-ZA) whose FAQ states that South African users create an account, complete identity verification "with a valid South Africa ID" and deposit ZAR via Instant EFT or bank transfer with no minimum deposit. Services are provided by Binance ADGM / Bahrain entities, not a South African company. Availability of every product is not implied: see products. Source: Crypto Exchange in South Africa | Binance (en-ZA site) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 January 2027 |
| Licence status | Licensed through a group subsidiary Partially verified — Licensed through a group subsidiary; the licensed entity’s role for your crypto account is not confirmed. Bitget’s licences page lists an FSCA Financial Services Provider (CASP) licence and an Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider licence for South Africa without naming the entity. The FSCA list of licensed CASPs titled March 2026 includes PARSA FINANCIAL SERVICES (PTY) LTD (FSP 52563, Category I: advice and intermediary services, entry 206), which Bitget describes as “a subsidiary of the Bitget Group” (Bitget Academy, “Bitget US stock trading guide”, read 2026-09-27). Bitget’s Terms of Use still name BTG Technology Holdings Limited, which is not on the list, as the operator, and Bitget’s help pages tie Parsa to Stock+. Source: List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (FSCA, PDF) and Bitget licences page (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · verified on 27 September 2026 · re-check due 27 December 2026 | Not found in the Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) list dated March 2026; current status not independently confirmed Verified — No Binance entity (Binance, Nest Exchange Limited, Binance Bahrain BSC) appears in the FSCA list of licensed CASPs titled March 2026 (first read 8 September 2026, re-read 27 September 2026). Binance’s South Africa page states it is "actively engaged in South Africa’s CASP licensing process"; that is the exchange’s statement, not a regulator confirmation, so no pending status is recorded. The same page’s footer states that Nest Exchange Limited and Binance Bahrain BSC offer "limited derivative products" to South African users as juristic representatives of FiveWest OTC Desk (Pty) Ltd (FSP 51619); FiveWest is not on the CASP list either and we did not verify FSP 51619 in the FSCA FSP register. Source: List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (FSCA, PDF) (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · verified on 27 September 2026 · re-check due 27 December 2026 |
| Licence reference | Not enough verified data to compare. | |
| ZAR support | Deposits: Yes · Withdrawals: Yes Verified Source: bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 | Deposits: Yes · Withdrawals: Yes Verified Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 |
| Pricing model | Order book plus quote-based screens Verified — Spot order book for crypto/crypto pairs (USDT-, USDC-, BTC-, ETH-quoted) plus quote-based fiat conversion for ZAR: there is no ZAR order book. Source: api.bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 | Order book (maker / taker) Verified — Spot order book with maker/taker tiers plus Binance Convert / Buy Crypto quotes (stated zero fee, spread not published). Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 |
| Deposit methods | Instant EFT, Crypto Verified — ZAR deposit into the Bitget fiat balance by an online-banking payment from all major South African banks. The Help Center’s rand articles and the February 2025 launch announcement call the provider Callpay; the South Africa guide (2025-10-16) names the payment option EFTSecure; no Bitget page says how the two names relate. Bitget’s automatically generated South Africa buying page says, in template text, that rand buyers can also use P2P, crypto deposits and third-party payments (credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay), but no Help Center article names a rand card gateway, fee or limit, so no card rail is recorded. Crypto deposits are free. Source: How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) and the South Africa ZAR guide (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) (document dated 10 February 2025) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 | Instant EFT, Bank transfer, Card, Crypto Verified — ZAR rails documented on official pages on 4 October 2026: linked bank account / online banking through Stitch (account name must match, up to 5 linked accounts), bank transfer (EFT) to the bank details shown in-app with a new reference code for each deposit (FAQ published 2026-09-15) and Absa Pay (FAQ published 2026-07-23). Capitec Pay is named only in Binance’s 14 January 2026 promotion, whose Capitec Pay FAQ no longer exists, so it is not confirmed as a current rail. A card or Apple Pay deposit into the ZAR balance has its own FAQ (published 2026-07-31, updated 2026-08-06; Google Pay is not supported), read 4 October 2026. Crypto deposits are free. Source: How to Deposit ZAR to Binance from a Linked Bank Account (and the bank-transfer and Absa Pay FAQs) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 |
| Withdrawal methods | Bank transfer, Crypto Verified — ZAR bank-transfer withdrawal from the fiat balance to a South African bank account in the account holder’s name; crypto must first be converted to ZAR in-app. Source: Bank Deposit and Withdrawal: Limits, Fees, and Processing Times (2024-08-29) and the South Africa ZAR guide (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 | Bank transfer, Crypto Verified — ZAR withdrawals via bank transfer (Stitch), to a linked bank account ("Pay by bank app") or via Absa Pay (FAQ published 2026-07-23); the receiving account must be in the Binance account holder’s name and KYC is required. Source: How to Withdraw ZAR from Binance via Bank Transfer (and linked-bank / Absa Pay pages) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 |
| Maker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier) | 0.1 % Partially verified — Global standard spot rate on crypto/crypto pairs (Bitget has no ZAR pair); actual pair-specific fees may differ. Scope: global-standard-spot — Bitget’s public symbols endpoint (read 4 October 2026) returns 0.10 % maker / 0.10 % taker for 3,332 of 3,386 online pairs and 0.20 % / 0.20 % for 54 pairs including BTC/USDT, ETH/USDT, SOL/USDT and XRP/USDT; the fee page shows its table only after login and says rates may vary by region. Bitget has no ZAR trading pairs, so no ZAR pair rate exists; ZAR is converted to crypto at a quote. Source: Bitget spot API: public symbols (makerFeeRate / takerFeeRate) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 | 0.1 % Partially verified — Global standard spot rate (Regular User); actual pair-specific ZAR fees may differ. Scope: global-standard-spot — level 0 of the published fee tiers, also quoted on the South Africa page as "start at 0.10 %"; no South Africa or ZAR pair-specific schedule is published, so this is partially verified on purpose and never ranked as the lowest fee. 0.075 % when fees are paid in BNB. Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 |
| Taker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier) | 0.1 % Partially verified — Global standard spot rate on crypto/crypto pairs (Bitget has no ZAR pair); actual pair-specific fees may differ. Scope: global-standard-spot — 0.10 % on most pairs, 0.20 % on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT and ETH/USDT (public symbols endpoint, 4 October 2026). No ZAR pairs exist. Source: Bitget spot API: public symbols (makerFeeRate / takerFeeRate) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 | 0.1 % Partially verified — Global standard spot rate (Regular User); actual pair-specific ZAR fees may differ. Scope: global-standard-spot — partially verified on purpose because no ZAR pair-specific schedule is published, never ranked as the lowest fee. 0.075 % with the BNB discount. Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 |
| Taker fee: stablecoin/ZAR (entry tier) | Unknown Data under review — No stablecoin/ZAR rate in the verified fee schedule. | 0.1 % Partially verified — Global standard rate, not a South Africa-specific or ZAR pair-specific schedule; actual pair-specific fees may differ. Partially verified on purpose for that reason. Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 |
| Instant / simple-buy fee | No separate fee; cost is the quoted spread (variable) Verified Source: bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 | No separate fee; cost is the quoted spread (variable) Verified Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 |
| Fiat deposit fee | 1.4 % Verified — The Help Center’s Callpay deposit article (dated 2025-02-10, live on 4 October 2026) states a 1.4 % processing fee on ZAR deposits, the same figure as the limits table of 2024-08-29; your bank may charge as well. The zero-fee offer at the Callpay launch ran from 24 February to 10 March 2025, and the South Africa guide (2025-10-16) restates no fee. Source: How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 10 February 2025) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 | Unknown Data under review — A ZAR deposit fee exists (the deposit flow shows "the transaction fee (if any)" and Binance’s 2025–2026 promotions waived it up to R180), but no official page publishes the standard amount for any ZAR rail, and Binance’s fiat fee endpoint lists no ZAR entry. Unknown; never shown as 0. |
| Fiat withdrawal fee | R20 Verified — The Help Center’s Callpay withdrawal article (dated 2025-02-10, live on 4 October 2026) states a flat 20 ZAR fee per withdrawal "regardless of the amount withdrawn", the same figure as the limits table of 2024-08-29. Source: How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 10 February 2025) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026 | Unknown Data under review — The withdrawal flow shows "the transaction fee (if any)" before confirmation; no official page publishes the standard ZAR withdrawal fee. Zero-fee ZAR withdrawals were a promotion that ended 31 March 2023 (historical). Unknown; never shown as 0. |
| Minimum ZAR withdrawal | USD 10 equivalent in ZAR Verified — Each withdrawal must be between USD 10 and USD 10,000 equivalent in ZAR, with a daily maximum of USD 10,000 equivalent; no rand figure is published for the withdrawal limits. Source: How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab) (document dated 10 February 2025) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026 | Unknown Data under review — No minimum ZAR withdrawal is printed on the withdrawal FAQs or the South Africa page. |
| KYC | Identity verification is mandatory for deposits, trading and P2P (since 1 January 2024): choose country of residence and ID type (accepted types vary by country), enter your name as on the ID, photograph the document by phone and pass a facial check; review usually within 60 minutes and up to one business day. Proof of address (issued within three months: bank statement, utility bill, government document, lease) is requested from some users. Scope: global-account-requirement — no South Africa-specific document list is published; the South Africa guide only says KYC is required before ZAR rails. Verified accounts have a VIP-level 24-hour withdrawal limit (3 million USDT at VIP 0). Verified Source: Common Questions About Individual Verification; How to Complete KYC (website guide); How to Upload Proof of Address (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 January 2027 | Identity verification is mandatory before deposits and trading: government ID (the South Africa FAQ says "a valid South Africa ID"; passport, ID card or driver’s licence per the global article) plus a liveness face check; review usually within 48 hours. Scope: global-account-requirement — no South Africa-specific document list, fiat limit or account limit is published. Additional documents may be requested for fiat services. Verified Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 January 2027 |
| Products | Spot, P2P Verified — Bitget’s South Africa guide says a funded user can "trade Crypto, Stock Futures & Gold"; only spot crypto trading is recorded among those, because crypto futures, margin, copy trading and Earn are described on global pages without a South Africa statement. P2P is recorded because Bitget’s South Africa KYC guide (https://www.bitget.com/blog/articles/verify-bitget-account-in-south-africa-guide, 2025-08-08) lists "Use P2P to deposit or withdraw South African Rand" and its P2P marketplace lists rand adverts (one bank-transfer advert for USDT on 4 October 2026). P2P trades are with other users, not with Bitget. Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (official blog, 2025-10-16); Verify Your Bitget Account in South Africa (official blog, 2025-08-08) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 December 2026 | Spot, Earn, P2P Verified — The South Africa FAQ lists Spot trading, Binance Earn and ZAR deposits/withdrawals for South African users, and Binance P2P in ZAR. "Limited derivative products" are stated in the footer via FiveWest OTC Desk without naming them, so futures / margin / options are not listed as available; the Binance Card is described as available to South African users but is not a trading product. Source: Crypto Exchange in South Africa | Binance (en-ZA FAQ) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 December 2026 |
| Beginner friendly | No Verified — Editorial judgement per our methodology: the FSCA licence it lists belongs to a group subsidiary whose role for crypto accounts is not confirmed, the contracting entity is offshore, there is no ZAR order book (rand is converted at a quote) and the product set is large and derivatives-heavy; suited to users who already know what they are doing. Source: bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 April 2027 | No Verified — Editorial judgement per our methodology: not on the FSCA CASP list, an offshore contracting entity, unpublished rand fees and a large, complex product set; suited to users who already know what they are doing. Source: binance.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 8 September 2026 · re-check due 8 March 2027 |
| Data confidence | Medium official-source coverage (4/6 core areas documented, 7 unresolved) | Medium official-source coverage (2/6 core areas documented, 10 unresolved) |
| Last verified | October 4, 2026 | October 4, 2026 |
Cells marked “Unknown” have not been verified against an official source. We never fill gaps with estimates.
Bitget
Referral link. SwapSift may receive a commission if eligible activity qualifies under Bitget’s current programme terms. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money
10% trading fee discount 10% trading fee discount available through the SwapSift Bitget link. Programme-level benefit; exact product scope not independently confirmed. Subject to Bitget’s current terms and eligibility.
Bitget notice (26 September 2026): Withdrawals resuming in phases after a security incident on 24 September 2026. Read the announcement
Binance
Referral link. SwapSift may receive a commission if eligible activity qualifies under Binance’s current programme terms. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money
Which one fits
Binance fits someone who wants to buy or sell USDT against rand on an order book, or to trade rand with other users through P2P. Choosing it means accepting that no Binance entity is on the FSCA’s list. Bitget fits someone who wants a rand balance on a global exchange and accepts a quoted rand price. Its FSCA licence belongs to a subsidiary whose role for your account is not confirmed.
Both are offshore platforms. Funding them, or moving crypto to them from a South African platform, can fall under exchange control; see is crypto legal in South Africa? The Reserve Bank’s FinSurv FAQ says that using crypto bought in South Africa to externalise capital without permission is a criminal offence.
Most fields in the table were re-read on 4 October 2026; the FSCA searches date from 27 September and Binance’s beginner rating from 8 September. SwapSift has referral arrangements with both platforms (see the affiliate disclosure); they do not change this comparison.
Licence and the company you contract with
Binance’s South Africa page says it is “actively engaged in South Africa’s Crypto Asset Service Provider (CASP) licensing process”. Its South African users are served by Binance entities in Abu Dhabi and Bahrain rather than a South African company, and no Binance entity appears on the FSCA’s March 2026 list. The page’s footer adds that two Binance entities offer “limited derivative products” as juristic representatives of FiveWest OTC Desk (Pty) Ltd (FSP 51619). That is a third party’s licence.
Bitget’s Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026) name BTG Technology Holdings Limited, under Hong Kong law, as the operator, and that company is not on the FSCA list either. Bitget’s licences page lists an FSCA crypto asset licence for South Africa. The FSCA’s list titled March 2026 includes its subsidiary Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563, Category I), but Bitget does not say which company holds a South African crypto account.
We searched both FSCA lists, all sections, for Binance, Nest Services, Bitget and BTG Technology Holdings on 27 September 2026. The Bitget position is explained in is Bitget legal in South Africa?
Getting rand in
| Binance | Bitget | |
|---|---|---|
| Rails | Linked bank account through Stitch, bank transfer (EFT), Absa Pay, and card or Apple Pay; Capitec Pay appears only in a January 2026 promotion and is not confirmed | Online-banking payment (Callpay in the Help Center; EFTSecure in the South Africa guide) |
| Minimum | None, per its South Africa FAQ | R180, with a R179,000 daily limit (South Africa guide); USD 10 to USD 10,000 equivalent (Help Center) |
| Fee | A fee is shown on the deposit screen; no standard amount is published for any rand rail | 1.4 % (Help Center Callpay deposit article, 10 February 2025) |
| Typical time | Linked bank: within 1–3 business days (2022 FAQ); bank transfer, Absa Pay and card: not published | 5 minutes to 2 hours, depending on the bank |
Binance’s bank-transfer route is described in a FAQ published on 15 September 2026. You pay from an account in your own name, for exactly the amount entered, with a reference code that changes for every deposit. Bitget’s deposit starts inside the app instead: you log in to your bank through EFTSecure and type no reference. The rand deposit routes table at the end of this page sets both platforms’ routes side by side. The Bitget steps are in how to deposit ZAR on Bitget.
Getting rand out
Binance pays rand out by bank transfer through Stitch, to a linked bank account or through Absa Pay. The receiving account must be in your own name. The fee appears on the withdrawal screen and no standard amount is published. An order placed outside banking hours is processed the next business day.
Bitget first sells your crypto for rand at a quote, then pays out to your own bank. Its pages disagree on how long that takes: one working day in the Help Center, up to two business days in its rand guide. Each withdrawal costs a flat 20 ZAR, per the Help Center. Bitget paused withdrawals after a security incident on 24 September 2026; the dated notice on this page shows the latest status we have read. The steps are in how to withdraw from Bitget to a South African bank account.
Trading costs
Neither publishes a South Africa schedule. Each publishes one global spot rate instead. Binance’s Regular User level pays 0.10 % maker and taker, or 0.075 % when fees are paid in BNB. Bitget’s public API (4 October 2026) shows 0.10 % on most pairs and 0.20 % on 54 pairs, including BTC/USDT. Actual pair fees may differ, so both are partially verified here.
The real difference is how rand becomes crypto. Binance lists a USDT/ZAR order book, where a limit order can pay the maker rate. Its South Africa page says its one-tap Convert screen charges no fee, but the spread inside the Convert quote is not published. Bitget converts rand at an in-app quote whose spread it does not publish either. On neither platform can the all-in cost of a rand purchase be worked out from published numbers alone.
USDT
Binance’s public API showed USDT/ZAR trading on 4 October 2026, while BTC/ZAR, ETH/ZAR, BNB/ZAR and BUSD/ZAR were halted. Its global USDT list, read the same day, has 19 networks with flat fees: 1.5 USDT on Tron, 0.9 USDT on Ethereum and 0.01 USDT on BNB Smart Chain, for example. Minimums run from 3 to 5 USDT, and withdrawals on Asset Hub Polkadot were paused.
Bitget’s global list, also read on 4 October 2026, has 12 networks with fixed fees, such as 1.5 USDT on Tron and 2 USDT on Ethereum, and a 10 USDT minimum on every network. Both lists are platform-wide rather than South Africa-specific. Binance raised its Ethereum fee from 0.3 USDT to 0.9 USDT within a week, so read the withdrawal screen before you send.
KYC
Both require identity verification before you can deposit or trade. Binance asks for a government ID and a liveness check; its South Africa FAQ says “a valid South Africa ID”, and reviews usually take up to 48 hours. Bitget asks for an ID accepted for your country and a facial check, usually reviewed within 60 minutes and up to one business day. It asks some users for proof of address. Neither publishes a South Africa-specific document list or rand limit.
Products
Binance’s South Africa page lists spot trading, Binance Earn and rand P2P; its “limited derivative products” are not named. Bitget’s rand guide says funded users can trade “Crypto, Stock Futures & Gold”. Only Bitget’s spot trading is recorded as available here, because Bitget does not state which derivatives, Earn or P2P products are open to South African residents.
Limitations of this comparison
Neither platform publishes a South Africa fee schedule or the spread in its rand quotes, and Binance publishes no rand deposit or withdrawal fee. No like-for-like total cost is therefore possible, and both platforms change network fees without notice. We have not opened an account at either platform.
Next steps
Read the Bitget profile and is Bitget legal in South Africa?; Binance has no profile page yet, and its verified fields are in the exchange finder. If you would rather use a platform whose own South African company holds an FSCA licence, compare Bitget vs Luno vs VALR.
Rand deposit routes compared
| Route | Fee | Minimum or limit | Time to credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bitget | |||
| ZAR bank deposit (Callpay; EFTSecure in the South Africa guide) | 1.4 % processing fee (Help Center Callpay deposit article, 2025-02-10) | Minimum USD 10 equivalent in ZAR per deposit (Help Center, 2025-02-10); R180 (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16); limit USD 10,000 equivalent in ZAR per deposit and per day (Help Center, 2025-02-10); R179,000 per day (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16, "subject to change"). No page states the exchange rate between the two. | Most deposits within minutes (Help Center); typically 5 minutes to 2 hours, bank dependent (South Africa guide) |
| Binance · Partially verified | |||
| Linked bank account / online banking (Stitch) | Not published — shown on the deposit screen ("transaction fee, if any") | No minimum (South Africa FAQ) | Typically within 1–3 business days (linked-bank FAQ, published 2022-08-16); the South Africa page calls the rail Instant EFT |
| Capitec Pay | Not published; Capitec Pay itself is not confirmed as a current rail (named only in the 14 January 2026 promotion, which waived the fee up to R180; its Capitec Pay FAQ no longer exists) | — | — |
| Absa Pay | Not published — "review the payment details, including the fee" in-app (FAQ published 2026-07-23) | — | — |
| Bank transfer (EFT) | Not published — "review the payment details, including the fee and the amount to receive" in-app; transfer exactly the amount entered and do not deduct fees (FAQ published 2026-09-15) | — | — |
| Card or Apple Pay | Not published — "review the payment details, including the fee and the amount to receive" in-app; Google Pay is not supported (FAQ published 2026-07-31, updated 2026-08-06) | — | — |
- Each value is quoted from the platform’s own pages; “—” means the page we read does not state it. Your bank may charge for the payment as well.
- Read on 4 October 2026; each platform’s rows show "Needs re-check" in your browser from its re-check date (first due 4 November 2026).
- Sources: Bitget: How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10); How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab); Binance: Celebrate Zero Fees on Your Rand Deposits with Capitec Pay! (announcement, 2026-01-14) and the ZAR deposit FAQs (opens in a new tab)
Frequently asked questions
Is Bitget or Binance better for South Africans?
It depends on what you need. Binance suits someone who wants to buy USDT on a USDT/ZAR order book or trade rand through P2P; Bitget suits someone who wants a rand balance on a global exchange whose group has a company on the FSCA's list. Neither is confirmed to hold South African accounts through a licensed company, and both are offshore.
Does the FSCA license Binance or Bitget?
Neither is confirmed. No Binance entity is on the FSCA's March 2026 list; Binance says it is engaged in the licensing process. Bitget lists an FSCA licence, and its subsidiary Parsa Financial Services is on the March 2026 list, but Bitget's Terms name an operator that is not on the list and Bitget does not say which company holds your account.
Can I buy USDT with rand on Bitget or Binance?
On Binance, yes: USDT/ZAR was trading on its order book when we checked its public API on 4 October 2026, while BTC/ZAR, ETH/ZAR and BNB/ZAR were halted. Bitget has no rand pairs: you deposit rand and convert it to USDT at an in-app quote whose spread is not published.
Do Binance and Bitget charge fees on rand deposits?
Binance shows a transaction fee on the deposit screen but publishes no standard amount for any rand rail, so the fee is unknown. Bitget's Help Center gives 1.4 % for a rand deposit via Callpay (article of 10 February 2025), the same figure as its 2024 limits table.
How we compare
We compare availability, licensing, fees, deposit and withdrawal methods and KYC requirements using official exchange documentation and regulator registers. Affiliate relationships never affect ranking or wording.
Risk warning
Crypto assets are volatile and you may lose all the money you put in. Platform availability, fees, licences and terms can change at any time and the information on this page may become outdated. Always verify terms directly with the provider before acting. This website does not provide personal financial advice.
Sources
Primary sources checked for this page. Accessed dates are shown next to each link.
- List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- Crypto Exchange in South Africa | Buy BTC & ETH with ZAR on Binance (opens in a new tab)
- How to Deposit ZAR to Binance from a Linked Bank Account (opens in a new tab)
- How to Deposit ZAR to Binance via Bank Transfer? (opens in a new tab)
- How to Withdraw ZAR from Binance via Bank Transfer (opens in a new tab)
- Trading fee schedule (opens in a new tab)
- Spot API: exchangeInfo (USDTZAR, BTCZAR, ETHZAR, BNBZAR, BUSDZAR) (opens in a new tab)
- Crypto Deposit & Withdrawal Fees (USDT) (opens in a new tab)
- How to complete identity verification for a personal account (opens in a new tab)
- Regulatory licenses (South Africa: FSCA Financial Services Provider (CASP) and ODP licences) (opens in a new tab)
- Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab)
- Bank Deposit and Withdrawal: Limits, Fees, and Processing Times (2024-08-29) (opens in a new tab)
- How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab)
- How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab)
- Spot API: public symbols (opens in a new tab)
- Spot API: public coins (USDT chains) (opens in a new tab)
- Common Questions About Individual Verification (opens in a new tab)
- Bitget to Resume Withdrawals in Phases (announcement, 26 September 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Financial Surveillance Department: frequently asked questions (crypto assets) (opens in a new tab)
- How to Deposit ZAR to Binance via Card or Apple Pay? (published 2026-07-31, updated 2026-08-06) (opens in a new tab)