A container harbour with blue cranes at dawn over calm water, in soft mist

This is a data profile, not a hands-on review. We only describe what we could verify from official sources.

Data confidence: MediumLast verified: 4 October 2026Hands-on testing: Not independently tested yet.
Open Bitget (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may receive a commission if eligible activity qualifies under Bitget’s current programme terms. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

10% trading fee discount 10% trading fee discount available through the SwapSift Bitget link. Programme-level benefit; exact product scope not independently confirmed. Subject to Bitget’s current terms and eligibility.

Availability in South Africa

Availability
availableVerified

South Africa is not among the Prohibited Countries in Bitget’s Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026), "ZAR: South Africa" is listed as a supported fiat deposit / withdrawal region, and Bitget’s South Africa buying page states the platform is "legally accessible in South Africa". There is no South Africa-specific site or help section; the contracting entity is BTG Technology Holdings Limited (Terms governed by Hong Kong law). Availability of every product is not implied: see products.

Source: Which Countries or Regions Support Bank Deposits on Bitget? (2025-02-20) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 January 2027
Fiat currencies
ZARVerified

ZAR is a native fiat balance (deposit and withdrawal) for South Africa; Bitget also supports EUR, USD, BRL and other currencies for other regions — only ZAR was checked for South Africa.

Source: bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
ZAR deposits
YesVerified

Native ZAR fiat balance funded by an online-banking deposit after KYC (Callpay in the Help Center, EFTSecure in the South Africa guide); not a third-party card on-ramp.

Source: Which Countries or Regions Support Bank Deposits on Bitget? ("ZAR: South Africa") (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
ZAR withdrawals
YesVerified

Withdraw → Fiat → ZAR to a South African bank account in your own name; crypto must be converted to ZAR first.

Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (official blog, 2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026

Regulation and licensing

Regulator
Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)
Licence status
licensedPartially verified

Official evidence found (document dated March 2026), but its scope or current applicability is unclear, so it is not used as a value.

Licensed through a group subsidiary; the licensed entity’s role for your crypto account is not confirmed. Bitget’s licences page lists an FSCA Financial Services Provider (CASP) licence and an Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider licence for South Africa without naming the entity. The FSCA list of licensed CASPs titled March 2026 includes PARSA FINANCIAL SERVICES (PTY) LTD (FSP 52563, Category I: advice and intermediary services, entry 206), which Bitget describes as “a subsidiary of the Bitget Group” (Bitget Academy, “Bitget US stock trading guide”, read 2026-09-27). Bitget’s Terms of Use still name BTG Technology Holdings Limited, which is not on the list, as the operator, and Bitget’s help pages tie Parsa to Stock+.

Source: List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (FSCA, PDF) and Bitget licences page (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · verified on 27 September 2026 · re-check due 27 December 2026
Licence reference
UnknownData under review

Bitget’s licences page lists an FSCA CASP licence for South Africa without an FSP number. The only Bitget Group entity on the FSCA list is Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563); the number is not attributed to Bitget until Bitget states which entity serves South African crypto accounts.

What the licence list shows and how to check it yourself: FSCA-licensed crypto exchanges in South Africa.

ZAR deposit methods

Instant EFT, CryptoVerified

ZAR deposit into the Bitget fiat balance by an online-banking payment from all major South African banks. The Help Center’s rand articles and the February 2025 launch announcement call the provider Callpay; the South Africa guide (2025-10-16) names the payment option EFTSecure; no Bitget page says how the two names relate. Bitget’s automatically generated South Africa buying page says, in template text, that rand buyers can also use P2P, crypto deposits and third-party payments (credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay), but no Help Center article names a rand card gateway, fee or limit, so no card rail is recorded. Crypto deposits are free.

Source: How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) and the South Africa ZAR guide (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) (document dated 10 February 2025) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026

Bitget: ZAR deposit methods — Verified
MethodFeeMinimum / limitProcessing time
ZAR bank deposit (Callpay; EFTSecure in the South Africa guide)1.4 % processing fee (Help Center Callpay deposit article, 2025-02-10)Min USD 10 equivalent in ZAR per deposit (Help Center, 2025-02-10); R180 (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16) · Limit USD 10,000 equivalent in ZAR per deposit and per day (Help Center, 2025-02-10); R179,000 per day (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16, "subject to change"). No page states the exchange rate between the two.Most deposits within minutes (Help Center); typically 5 minutes to 2 hours, bank dependent (South Africa guide)

The rail (online-banking deposit from all major South African banks, including ABSA, FNB, Nedbank, Standard Bank, Investec and Capitec) and its 1.4 % fee are stated on official pages. The Help Center gives the limits in US-dollar equivalents and the South Africa guide in rand; they are shown side by side because neither page states the conversion. No rand card or Apple Pay rail is recorded.

Source: How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10); How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026
Minimum deposit
R180Verified

"Minimum deposit: R180" for the ZAR bank deposit; the guide adds that limits appear on the deposit screen and are subject to change. The Help Center’s Callpay deposit article (2025-02-10) gives the minimum as USD 10 equivalent in ZAR; no Bitget page states the exchange rate between the two.

Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (official blog, 2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026

ZAR withdrawal methods

Bank transfer, CryptoVerified

ZAR bank-transfer withdrawal from the fiat balance to a South African bank account in the account holder’s name; crypto must first be converted to ZAR in-app.

Source: Bank Deposit and Withdrawal: Limits, Fees, and Processing Times (2024-08-29) and the South Africa ZAR guide (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026

Bitget: ZAR withdrawal methods — Verified
MethodFeeMinimum / limitProcessing time
ZAR bank withdrawalFlat 20 ZAR per withdrawal, regardless of amount (Help Center Callpay withdrawal article, 2025-02-10)Min USD 10 equivalent in ZAR per withdrawal (Help Center, 2025-02-10) · Limit USD 10,000 equivalent in ZAR per withdrawal and per day (Help Center, 2025-02-10)Stated differently on Bitget’s own pages: within one working day, or as little as 10 minutes by fast transfer (Help Center, 2025-02-10); within 24 hours (launch announcement, 2025-02-24); often minutes but allow up to 2 business days (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16)

Bank transfer to a South African account in your own name (the South Africa guide says the account name must match your Bitget account). The fee and the per-withdrawal and daily limits come from the Help Center’s Callpay withdrawal article; the stated processing time differs between Bitget’s pages, so no single time is recorded.

Source: How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10); How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026
Minimum withdrawal
USD 10 equivalent in ZARVerified

Each withdrawal must be between USD 10 and USD 10,000 equivalent in ZAR, with a daily maximum of USD 10,000 equivalent; no rand figure is published for the withdrawal limits.

Source: How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab) (document dated 10 February 2025) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
Crypto withdrawal networks and fees
Fixed per-network withdrawal fee and a 10 USDT minimum published for every USDT chain through the public coins endpoint (platform-wide list; adjusted without notice). Scope: global-platform-network-support, not South Africa-specific.Verified
Source: Bitget spot API: public coins (USDT chains) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026

USDT (Tether)

Networks and fees as published by the platform. A variable fee is never shown as a number; a network missing from this list is unknown, not unsupported.

USDT trading pairs
USDC/USDT, BTC/USDTVerified

There is no USDT/ZAR or USDC/ZAR pair on Bitget (no symbol is quoted in ZAR); USDT is reached from rand only through the quote-based ZAR conversion. USDC/USDT trades at 0.10 % / 0.10 % and BTC/USDT at 0.20 % / 0.20 % on the public symbols endpoint.

Source: Bitget spot API: public symbols (read 2026-10-04) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
USDT deposit networks
Ethereum (ERC20), Tron (TRC20), BNB Smart Chain (BEP20), Arbitrum One, Solana, Optimism, Polygon, AVAX C-Chain, TON, Aptos, Morph, PlasmaVerified

Scope: global-platform-network-support. All 12 chains accepted deposits on the read date (minimum deposit 0.01 USDT, 0.1 USDT on Plasma and 0.5 USDT on Ethereum); withdrawals, paused on every chain on 27 September after the 24 September 2026 security incident, were enabled on all 12 chains when re-read on 4 October 2026. Bitget publishes no South Africa-specific network page, so availability of every network to South African users is not independently confirmed.

Source: Bitget spot API: public coins (USDT chains, read 2026-10-04) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
USDT withdrawal fee by network
Tron (TRC20): 1.5 USDT · Ethereum (ERC20): 2 USDT · BNB Smart Chain (BEP20): 0.01 USDT · Arbitrum One: 0.1 USDT · Solana: 0.5 USDT · Optimism: 0.014 USDT · Polygon: 0.07 USDT · AVAX C-Chain: 0.04 USDT · TON: 0.15 USDT · Aptos: 0.03 USDT · Morph: 0.01 USDT · Plasma: 0.012 USDTVerified

Scope: global-platform-network-support — platform-wide fixed fees on the read date, all 12 chains shown. Bitget adjusts them without notice: between 8 and 27 September 2026 the Ethereum fee rose from 0.8 to 2 USDT and the BNB Smart Chain fee fell from 0.15 to 0.01 USDT. Not a South Africa-specific fee table.

Source: Bitget spot API: public coins (USDT chains, read 2026-10-04) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026
USDT minimum withdrawal
10 USDT on every networkVerified

Scope: global-platform-network-support (minWithdrawAmount = 10 on all 12 USDT chains).

Source: api.bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026

Deposit and withdrawal troubleshooting facts

Processing windows, reference rules and recovery policy exactly as the platform publishes them. Unknown means the platform publishes nothing, not that no rule exists.

ZAR deposit processing time
Most ZAR deposits are credited within minutes (Help Center Callpay deposit article, 2025-02-10); the South Africa guide (2025-10-16) says they typically reflect within 5 minutes to 2 hours, and bank-side delays can extend this. Contact support with the payment reference if a deposit is pending beyond 2 hours.Verified
Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
Deposit reference rule
Deposits are initiated inside the Bitget app (Add Funds → ZAR → EFTSecure): select your bank, log in to online banking, choose the account, confirm with a mobile number; no manual reference is typed. The bank account name must match the Bitget account name and KYC must be complete first.Verified
Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (2025-10-16) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
ZAR withdrawal processing schedule
Needs review (sources disagree)Needs review

Bitget’s own pages give three different times for a rand withdrawal: "within one working day", or "as little as 10 minutes" by fast transfer (Help Center Callpay withdrawal article, 2025-02-10); "within 24 hours" (Callpay launch announcement, https://www.bitget.com/support/articles/12560603822326, 2025-02-24); "often minutes, but allow up to 2 business days depending on your bank" (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16). None is recorded as current until Bitget reconciles them.

Source: How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 19 November 2026
Wrong-network / wrong-address recovery policy
UnknownUnknown

Trading fees

Maker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier)
0.1 %Partially verified

Global standard spot rate on crypto/crypto pairs (Bitget has no ZAR pair); actual pair-specific fees may differ. Scope: global-standard-spot — Bitget’s public symbols endpoint (read 4 October 2026) returns 0.10 % maker / 0.10 % taker for 3,332 of 3,386 online pairs and 0.20 % / 0.20 % for 54 pairs including BTC/USDT, ETH/USDT, SOL/USDT and XRP/USDT; the fee page shows its table only after login and says rates may vary by region. Bitget has no ZAR trading pairs, so no ZAR pair rate exists; ZAR is converted to crypto at a quote.

Source: Bitget spot API: public symbols (makerFeeRate / takerFeeRate) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026
Taker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier)
0.1 %Partially verified

Global standard spot rate on crypto/crypto pairs (Bitget has no ZAR pair); actual pair-specific fees may differ. Scope: global-standard-spot — 0.10 % on most pairs, 0.20 % on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT and ETH/USDT (public symbols endpoint, 4 October 2026). No ZAR pairs exist.

Source: Bitget spot API: public symbols (makerFeeRate / takerFeeRate) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026
Instant / simple buy
No explicit fee; the cost is the spread in the quote (variable)Verified
Source: bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026
Fees differ by pair class
YesVerified

Per-pair rates: 0.10 % on most pairs, 0.20 % on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT and ETH/USDT; no ZAR pairs (4 October 2026).

Source: api.bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026

Bitget publishes per-pair spot rates: 0.10 % maker / 0.10 % taker on most USDT- and USDC-quoted pairs and 0.20 % / 0.20 % on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT, ETH/USDT, SOL/USDT and XRP/USDT (public symbols endpoint, 4 October 2026); VIP and BGB-holding tiers lower them, and the fee page shows the tier table only after login. There are no ZAR trading pairs: rand is converted to crypto (and back) at a quote whose spread is shown before you confirm.Verified
Source: Bitget spot API: public symbols; Bitget fee page (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 November 2026

KYC requirements

Identity verification is mandatory for deposits, trading and P2P (since 1 January 2024): choose country of residence and ID type (accepted types vary by country), enter your name as on the ID, photograph the document by phone and pass a facial check; review usually within 60 minutes and up to one business day. Proof of address (issued within three months: bank statement, utility bill, government document, lease) is requested from some users. Scope: global-account-requirement — no South Africa-specific document list is published; the South Africa guide only says KYC is required before ZAR rails. Verified accounts have a VIP-level 24-hour withdrawal limit (3 million USDT at VIP 0).Verified
Source: Common Questions About Individual Verification; How to Complete KYC (website guide); How to Upload Proof of Address (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 January 2027

Products

Products
Spot, P2PVerified

Bitget’s South Africa guide says a funded user can "trade Crypto, Stock Futures & Gold"; only spot crypto trading is recorded among those, because crypto futures, margin, copy trading and Earn are described on global pages without a South Africa statement. P2P is recorded because Bitget’s South Africa KYC guide (https://www.bitget.com/blog/articles/verify-bitget-account-in-south-africa-guide, 2025-08-08) lists "Use P2P to deposit or withdraw South African Rand" and its P2P marketplace lists rand adverts (one bank-transfer advert for USDT on 4 October 2026). P2P trades are with other users, not with Bitget.

Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (official blog, 2025-10-16); Verify Your Bitget Account in South Africa (official blog, 2025-08-08) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 December 2026
Spot trading
YesVerified

3,386 online spot pairs on the public symbols endpoint (4 October 2026); none quoted in ZAR.

Source: api.bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 December 2026
Derivatives (futures / margin)
YesPartially verified

Bitget’s South Africa ZAR guide says funded users can trade "Crypto, Stock Futures & Gold"; whether crypto futures, margin or copy trading are open to South African residents is not stated on a South Africa page, so this is not a confirmation of a full derivatives offering.

Source: How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 4 December 2026
Beginner friendly
NoVerified

Editorial judgement per our methodology: the FSCA licence it lists belongs to a group subsidiary whose role for crypto accounts is not confirmed, the contracting entity is offshore, there is no ZAR order book (rand is converted at a quote) and the product set is large and derivatives-heavy; suited to users who already know what they are doing.

Source: bitget.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 4 October 2026 · re-check due 3 April 2027
Open Bitget (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may receive a commission if eligible activity qualifies under Bitget’s current programme terms. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

10% trading fee discount 10% trading fee discount available through the SwapSift Bitget link. Programme-level benefit; exact product scope not independently confirmed. Subject to Bitget’s current terms and eligibility.

Bitget notice (26 September 2026): Withdrawals resuming in phases after a security incident on 24 September 2026. Read the announcement

Referral programme (informational)

Bitget’s public Referral Program page says an invitee who registers through a referral link or code and completes tasks within 15 days (app login plus a combined spot and futures trading volume) can receive BGB airdrops and Mystery Boxes; whether this partner link is enrolled in that programme or in the separate Affiliate Program is not stated, so no reward amount is recorded here. Subject to Bitget’s current referral programme terms and eligibility. Referral programme: whether a sign-up qualifies and what the provider pays is set by the current programme terms; no payout amount is published here.Verified

Recorded neutrally as referral-programme: the Referral Program page describes task-based BGB airdrops and the Affiliate Program Policy describes commission for bloggers and online articles, but which programme this partner link belongs to has not been confirmed in writing by Bitget; the partner.bitget.com host alone is not treated as proof of Affiliate Program enrolment (policy: https://www.bitget.com/support/articles/12560603821827). Informational disclosure only; never an input to rankings.

Source: Bitget Support Center: Referral Program (2025-01-23) and Bitget Affiliate Program Policy (updated 2026-04-30) (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026

Commissions never affect how we rank or describe exchanges.

Who Bitget may suit

  • Users who want broad USDT network coverage: 12 verified deposit / withdrawal networks (platform-wide list; South Africa-specific availability not confirmed).
  • Users who want a published, fixed USDT withdrawal fee per network rather than a fee quoted only at confirmation.
  • Users who trade crypto/crypto pairs (e.g. BTC/USDT) on a global order book; the published rate is a global standard, not a South Africa-specific schedule.
  • Users who want rand to reflect within minutes to hours through a bank-login rail (instant EFT, Capitec Pay, Absa Pay or a bank-login deposit).

Who Bitget may not suit

  • Users who specifically need a USDT/ZAR spot pair with a verified entry-tier rate.
  • Users who want a BTC/ZAR (general crypto/ZAR) order book with a verified rate.
  • Users who need confirmation that the FSCA-licensed entity is the one serving their own account (the licence on record belongs to a group company and is only partially verified).
  • First-time buyers who want the simplest local rand on-ramp (see our beginner criteria).

Advantages

  • Native ZAR balance: online-banking deposits from all major South African banks (Callpay in the Help Center, EFTSecure in the South Africa guide), and ZAR withdrawals back to your own bank account.
  • Published per-pair spot rates (global standard 0.10 % on most pairs, 0.20 % on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT) and fixed, published USDT network fees from 0.01 USDT.
  • Rand deposits are credited within minutes per the Help Center (5 minutes to 2 hours per the South Africa guide).

Disadvantages

  • The FSCA licence it lists belongs to a group company, its South African subsidiary Parsa (FSP 52563, Category I: advice and intermediary); the operator named in its Terms, BTG Technology Holdings Limited (Hong Kong law), is not on the FSCA list, and Bitget does not say which entity your crypto account sits with.
  • No ZAR trading pairs: rand is converted to crypto at a quote whose spread is not published, so there is no USDT/ZAR or BTC/ZAR order book to compare with the local exchanges.
  • Rand deposits cost 1.4 % and each rand withdrawal a flat 20 ZAR (Help Center Callpay articles, February 2025), and Bitget’s own pages state three different rand withdrawal times.

What we could not verify yet

  • Which entity serves a South African crypto account: BTG Technology Holdings Limited (not on the FSCA list) or Bitget Group’s South African subsidiary Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563, FSCA Category I CASP, presented by Bitget as its Stock+ provider). Not confirmed in writing by Bitget.
  • Which rand withdrawal time is current: within one working day (Help Center), within 24 hours (launch announcement) or up to 2 business days (South Africa guide).
  • Which gateway, fee and limits apply to the rand card, Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases that Bitget’s automatically generated South Africa buying page mentions; no Help Center article describes them.
  • Which derivatives (crypto futures, margin, copy trading) and Earn products are open to South African residents.
  • Whether every USDT network on Bitget’s global list, and the 0.20 % rate on BTC/USDT-class pairs, apply unchanged to South African accounts.

Data confidence

Official-source coverage: Medium

Data confidence measures how much of our core checklist is documented on current official sources. It is not an exchange quality score, a safety score, a hands-on test result or a recommendation.

Core areas documented
4 / 6
Availability
Verified 4 October 2026
Regulatory status
Data under review 27 September 2026
Trading fees
Partially verified 4 October 2026
ZAR deposits
Verified 4 October 2026
ZAR withdrawals
Verified 4 October 2026
KYC requirements
Verified 4 October 2026
Affiliate terms
Partially verified

Unresolved questions1 conflicting

  • Data under review Licence reference: Bitget’s licences page lists an FSCA CASP licence for South Africa without an FSP number. The only Bitget Group entity on the FSCA list is Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563); the number is not attributed to Bitget until Bitget states which entity serves South African crypto accounts.
  • Needs review ZAR withdrawal processing schedule: Bitget’s own pages give three different times for a rand withdrawal: "within one working day", or "as little as 10 minutes" by fast transfer (Help Center Callpay withdrawal article, 2025-02-10); "within 24 hours" (Callpay launch announcement, https://www.bitget.com/support/articles/12560603822326, 2025-02-24); "often minutes, but allow up to 2 business days depending on your bank" (South Africa guide, 2025-10-16). None is recorded as current until Bitget reconciles them.
  • Which entity serves a South African crypto account: BTG Technology Holdings Limited (not on the FSCA list) or Bitget Group’s South African subsidiary Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563, FSCA Category I CASP, presented by Bitget as its Stock+ provider). Not confirmed in writing by Bitget.
  • Which rand withdrawal time is current: within one working day (Help Center), within 24 hours (launch announcement) or up to 2 business days (South Africa guide).
  • Which gateway, fee and limits apply to the rand card, Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases that Bitget’s automatically generated South Africa buying page mentions; no Help Center article describes them.
  • Which derivatives (crypto futures, margin, copy trading) and Earn products are open to South African residents.
  • Whether every USDT network on Bitget’s global list, and the 0.20 % rate on BTC/USDT-class pairs, apply unchanged to South African accounts.

Hands-on testing: Not independently tested yet.

High means at least five of the six core areas are documented on current official sources with no conflicting core field. It does not mean every question is answered, that the exchange is safe or good, or that we have tested it. How data confidence is computed

The facts on this page, with sources and dates, as open data (CC BY 4.0): JSON · all exchanges and field definitions

Who Bitget suits

Bitget is a global exchange with one thing the other offshore platforms on this site lack: a native rand balance. A verified South African can push rand in through a bank-login payment, hold it as ZAR, convert it to crypto at a quote and send rand back to their own bank account. What it does not have is a rand order book or a contracting entity on the FSCA’s list; the FSCA licence it lists belongs to its subsidiary Parsa. It therefore suits someone who already trades crypto/crypto pairs and wants a rand on-ramp, not a first-time buyer comparing BTC/ZAR spreads. Because it is an offshore platform, funding it, withdrawing from it or sending it crypto bought in South Africa can also raise exchange control questions; see is crypto legal in South Africa?.

What we checked and where

Every figure on this page is a structured fact from Bitget’s Support Center, its official blog and press release, its public spot API and the FSCA’s March 2026 list. We first read them on 8 September 2026 and re-read them in full on 4 October 2026; the FSCA list was re-read on 27 September 2026. Where two official pages disagree, the field is marked for review and both statements are quoted; where a figure may predate a later change, it is marked partially verified.

Availability and the entity you contract with

South Africa is not among the Prohibited Countries in Bitget’s Terms of Use, which were last updated on 15 September 2026 and name BTG Technology Holdings Limited as the operator under Hong Kong law. Bitget’s fiat-region article lists “ZAR: South Africa” among the currencies it supports for bank deposit and withdrawal, and its buying page for South Africa states the platform is legally accessible there. There is no South Africa-specific site or help section; Bitget Group’s South African subsidiary, Parsa Financial Services, holds an FSCA licence (see the licence section below).

FSCA licence status

Bitget’s licences page lists an FSCA crypto asset service provider licence and an over-the-counter derivatives licence for South Africa without naming the entity (read 4 October 2026). The only Bitget Group company on the FSCA’s March 2026 list is its subsidiary Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563, Category I: advice and intermediary services), which Bitget ties to its Stock+ service. The operator in its Terms, BTG Technology Holdings Limited, is not on the list. We therefore record Bitget as licensed through a group subsidiary, partially verified. What that means for your account, and how to check it yourself, is in is Bitget legal in South Africa?

How the fees work in practice

Bitget publishes its spot rates per pair through its public symbols endpoint. On 4 October 2026 it showed 0.10 % maker and 0.10 % taker on 3,332 of 3,386 online pairs. The other 54, including BTC/USDT, ETH/USDT, SOL/USDT and XRP/USDT, cost 0.20 %, before VIP and BGB-holding discounts. Those are global rates, not a South Africa schedule, and they only apply to crypto/crypto markets because Bitget has no pair quoted in rand. Turning rand into crypto happens at a quote (“conversion rates and fees are displayed before you confirm”). The real cost of a rand purchase is therefore the spread inside that quote, which Bitget does not publish.

Depositing rand

Rand goes in through an online-banking payment, which Bitget’s South Africa guide calls EFTSecure and its Help Center calls Callpay (announced in February 2025); no Bitget page says how the two names relate. After KYC, choose ZAR under Add Funds, pick your bank and approve the payment in your online banking. Bitget’s South Africa guide gives a R180 minimum, a R179,000 daily limit and a typical 5 minutes to 2 hours. The fee is 1.4 %, stated in Bitget’s Help Center article on depositing ZAR via Callpay (10 February 2025) and in its 2024 limits table; the zero-fee offer at the launch ran only from 24 February to 10 March 2025. The Help Center gives the limits as USD 10 to USD 10,000 equivalent per deposit and per day. The full walkthrough is in how to deposit ZAR on Bitget.

Withdrawing rand to your bank

Crypto is first sold for rand inside the app, then the ZAR balance is withdrawn to a South African bank account in your own name. Bitget’s pages disagree on how long this takes: within one working day (Help Center, February 2025), within 24 hours (launch announcement) or often minutes but up to 2 business days (South Africa guide). Each withdrawal costs a flat 20 ZAR, within USD 10 to USD 10,000 equivalent per withdrawal and USD 10,000 a day. Step by step, including what to do when a withdrawal is pending: how to withdraw from Bitget to a South African bank account.

Crypto deposits and withdrawals

Crypto deposits are free. USDT can be withdrawn on 12 networks with fixed fees published through the public coins endpoint. On 4 October 2026 they ran from 0.01 USDT on BNB Smart Chain and Morph to 1.5 USDT on Tron and 2 USDT on Ethereum, with a 10 USDT minimum on every chain. Bitget changes these fees without notice: the Ethereum fee was 0.8 USDT and the BNB Smart Chain fee 0.15 USDT on 8 September. This is Bitget’s platform-wide list; it publishes no South Africa-specific network page. Moving USDT in from a local exchange is covered in how to send USDT from Luno or VALR to Bitget.

KYC walkthrough

Identity verification has been mandatory for deposits, trading and P2P since 1 January 2024. You choose your country and an accepted ID type (which varies by country), enter your name exactly as on the document, photograph it by phone and complete a facial check. Bitget’s FAQ says reviews typically take up to 60 minutes; its website guide says about one business day. Some users are asked for proof of address issued within three months. Bitget publishes no South Africa-specific document list.

Product notes

Spot trading and P2P are recorded as available. Bitget’s South Africa guide says a funded user can trade “Crypto, Stock Futures & Gold”, but crypto futures, margin, copy trading and Earn are described on global pages without a South Africa statement. Its South Africa KYC guide (8 August 2025) says you can use P2P to deposit or withdraw rand, and on 4 October 2026 its P2P marketplace showed one bank-transfer advert for USDT. P2P trades are with other users, not with Bitget.

Limitations and risks

Bitget’s Terms contract your account with BTG Technology Holdings Limited, which is not on the FSCA list. The FSCA licence belongs to its subsidiary Parsa, whose role for your crypto account Bitget does not spell out, so do not assume every protection of a directly licensed provider applies. No rand order book means every rand purchase is priced at a quote rather than a visible fee. Bitget’s own pages also disagree on how long a rand withdrawal takes, so allow for the longest of the three times it states.

What we could not verify

  • The current standard ZAR deposit and withdrawal fees after the 2025 promotion.
  • The ZAR withdrawal minimum and maximum.
  • Which gateway, fee and limits apply to the rand card, Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases that Bitget’s template buying page mentions, and how deep the rand P2P market is.
  • Which of Bitget’s three stated rand withdrawal times applies now.
  • Which derivatives and Earn products are open to South African residents.
  • Whether every USDT network on the global list serves South African accounts.
  • Which Bitget entity serves South African crypto accounts.

Next steps

Compare Bitget side by side in Bitget vs Luno vs VALR or Bitget vs Binance. Move rand in and out step by step with the Bitget ZAR deposit guide, which also covers withdrawals to your bank. Compare the rand rails and licensed alternatives in the deposit and withdrawal methods guide, check the FSCA-licensed exchanges, or run the Exchange Finder with your own priorities. To see where it sits among the other platforms by situation, read best crypto exchanges in South Africa.

Changes we have recorded at Bitget

Each change was seen on Bitget’s own pages when we re-read them: the old value at one read, the new value at the next. All recorded exchange changes.

  • USDT withdrawals after the security incident: Paused on all 12 USDT chains → Enabled on all 12 USDT chains, with fees and minimums unchanged. Seen between 27 September 2026 and 3 October 2026 on Bitget public coins API (USDT) (opens in a new tab).
  • USDT withdrawal fees on seven chains: Ethereum 0.8; BNB Smart Chain 0.15; Arbitrum 0.15; Optimism 0.15; Polygon 0.2; Solana 1; Plasma 0.001 USDT → Ethereum 2; BNB Smart Chain 0.01; Arbitrum 0.1; Optimism 0.014; Polygon 0.07; Solana 0.5; Plasma 0.012 USDT. Seen between 7 September 2026 and 27 September 2026 on Bitget public coins API (USDT) (opens in a new tab).
  • Withdrawals after a security incident: Deposits and withdrawals enabled on all 12 USDT chains → Withdrawals paused after a hot-wallet security incident on 24 September 2026; deposits and trading continued. Seen between 7 September 2026 and 27 September 2026 on Bitget to Resume Withdrawals in Phases (announcement) (opens in a new tab).
  • Prohibited Countries in the Terms of Use: Version of 14 August 2026: 25 countries, Thailand not among them → Version of 15 September 2026: Thailand added; South Africa still not prohibited. Seen between 8 September 2026 and 27 September 2026 on Terms of Use (Bitget Support Center) (opens in a new tab).

Comparisons that include Bitget

Each comparison puts the verified fields of two platforms in one table. Listed alphabetically; commissions do not affect the order.

  • Bitget vs Binance: Two offshore exchanges with rand rails: a group company on the FSCA list and a quoted rand conversion, against a USDT/ZAR order book and rand P2P with no FSCA entry.
  • Bitget vs Luno vs VALR: Two licensed rand order books, Luno's and VALR's, against Bitget's bank-login rand rail, quoted rand conversion and subsidiary-held licence.

Frequently asked questions

Can I deposit rand on Bitget?

Yes. After identity verification, choose ZAR under Add Funds and pay through the bank-login flow, which Bitget's South Africa guide calls EFTSecure and its Help Center calls Callpay, from a South African bank account in your own name. The guide gives a R180 minimum, a R179,000 daily limit and a typical 5 minutes to 2 hours; the Help Center gives a 1.4 % fee.

Does Bitget have a USDT/ZAR or BTC/ZAR market?

No. Bitget's public symbols list has no ZAR-quoted pair. Rand in your Bitget balance is converted to crypto at a quote, and the spread inside that quote is not published; the 0.10 % order-book fee applies to crypto/crypto pairs such as USDC/USDT.

Is Bitget licensed by the FSCA?

Through a group company, partially verified. Bitget's licences page lists an FSCA crypto asset (CASP) licence for South Africa, and the FSCA's March 2026 list includes its subsidiary Parsa Financial Services (FSP 52563, Category I: advice and intermediary services). Bitget's Terms of Use still name BTG Technology Holdings Limited, which is not on the list, as the operator, and Bitget does not say which entity your crypto account sits with.

How we compare

We compare availability, licensing, fees, deposit and withdrawal methods and KYC requirements using official exchange documentation and regulator registers. Affiliate relationships never affect ranking or wording.

Read our methodology · How we review · How we make money

Risk warning

Crypto assets are volatile and you may lose all the money you put in. Platform availability, fees, licences and terms can change at any time and the information on this page may become outdated. Always verify terms directly with the provider before acting. This website does not provide personal financial advice.

Read the full risk warning

Sources

Primary sources checked for this page. Accessed dates are shown next to each link.

  1. Regulatory licenses (South Africa: FSCA Financial Services Provider (CASP) and ODP licences) (opens in a new tab)Bitget · Official documentation · accessed · Lists a South Africa Financial Services Provider (CASP) licence and an Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider licence, regulator FSCA; no entity or FSP number named.
  2. Bitget to Resume Withdrawals in Phases (announcement, 26 September 2026) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Security incident of 24 September 2026; trading and deposits operating; withdrawals resume in phases (BTC 28 Sep, ETH networks 29 Sep, USDT 30 Sep, other tokens, fiat and P2P 2 Oct, 08:00 UTC).
  3. Bitget US stock trading guide (Does Bitget hold a brokerage license?) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Academy · Official documentation · accessed · States that Bitget Stock+ services are provided by Parsa Financial Services Pty Ltd, a subsidiary of the Bitget Group, licensed by the FSCA as FSP 52563.
  4. List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) · Regulator · accessed · BTG Technology Holdings (the operator in Bitget's Terms) is not listed; entry 206 in Section A is PARSA FINANCIAL SERVICES (PTY) LTD, FSP 52563, Category I, which Bitget calls a Bitget Group subsidiary.
  5. Terms of Use (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Last updated 15 September 2026 (Thailand added to the Prohibited Countries); operator BTG Technology Holdings Limited; governing law Hong Kong; South Africa is not among the Prohibited Countries.
  6. Which Countries or Regions Support Bank Deposits on Bitget? (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Article dated 20 February 2025: lists 'ZAR: South Africa' among supported fiat deposit and withdrawal regions; KYC required first.
  7. Bank Deposit and Withdrawal: Limits, Fees, and Processing Times (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Article dated 29 August 2024: ZAR bank transfer deposit fee 1.4 %, withdrawal fee 20 ZAR, the same figures as the Callpay articles of 10 February 2025.
  8. How to Deposit ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · 1.4 % processing fee on ZAR deposits; USD 10 to USD 10,000 equivalent in ZAR per deposit and per day; most deposits credited within minutes.
  9. How to Withdraw ZAR via Callpay on Bitget Website? (2025-02-10) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Flat 20 ZAR per withdrawal regardless of amount; USD 10 to USD 10,000 equivalent per withdrawal and per day; typically within one working day, as little as 10 minutes by fast transfer.
  10. Introducing ZAR deposit and withdrawal via Callpay on Bitget (2025-02-24) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Launch announcement: withdrawals reach your bank 'within 24 hours'.
  11. Verify Your Bitget Account in South Africa: A Step-by-Step KYC Guide (2025-08-08) (opens in a new tab)Bitget (official blog) · Exchange · accessed · Lists 'Use P2P to deposit or withdraw South African Rand' among the things a verified account can do.
  12. How to Deposit and Withdraw Rand (ZAR) on Bitget in South Africa (opens in a new tab)Bitget (official blog) · Exchange · accessed · Dated 16 October 2025: EFTSecure bank deposit, minimum R180, daily limit R179,000, 5 minutes to 2 hours; withdrawals often minutes, up to 2 business days; KYC and matching account name required.
  13. Bitget Introduces Bank Deposits with Callpay Integration, Enabling ZAR Access for South African Users (opens in a new tab)Bitget (official blog, press release) · Exchange · accessed · Dated 24 February 2025: ZAR deposits and withdrawals via Callpay; zero deposit fees during a promotional period from 24 February to 10 March 2025.
  14. Spot API: public symbols (opens in a new tab)Bitget (api.bitget.com) · Exchange · accessed · Read 4 October 2026: no ZAR-quoted symbol among the 3,386 online spot pairs; makerFeeRate / takerFeeRate 0.10 % on 3,332 of them and 0.20 % on 54 pairs including BTC/USDT, ETH/USDT, SOL/USDT and XRP/USDT.
  15. Spot API: public coins (USDT) (opens in a new tab)Bitget (api.bitget.com) · Exchange · accessed · 12 USDT chains with fixed withdrawal fees (0.01 to 2 USDT) and a 10 USDT minimum; platform-wide list. Deposits open on every chain; withdrawals, paused platform-wide after the 24 September incident, were enabled on every chain when re-read on 4 October 2026.
  16. Bitget trading fees (opens in a new tab)Bitget · Exchange · accessed · VIP / BGB-holding tier rules; the rate table is shown only after login.
  17. Common Questions About Individual Verification (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · KYC required for deposits, trading and P2P since 1 January 2024; review usually within 60 minutes; VIP 0 withdrawal limit 3 million USDT per 24 hours.
  18. How to Complete KYC for My Bitget Account? - Website Guide (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed
  19. How to Upload Proof of Address? (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Dated 12 February 2026: proof of address within three months, requested from some users.
  20. How to buy Bitcoin (BTC) in South Africa (opens in a new tab)Bitget · Exchange · accessed · An automatically refreshed buying page: states Bitget is legally accessible in South Africa and, in template text, that ZAR buyers can use P2P, crypto deposits and third-party payments (cards, Apple Pay / Google Pay, bank transfer via gateways); no Help Center article names a rand card gateway, fee or limit.
  21. Financial Surveillance Department: frequently asked questions (crypto assets) (opens in a new tab)South African Reserve Bank (SARB) · Regulator · accessed · Exchange control: individuals may buy crypto assets abroad within the single discretionary or foreign capital allowance; using crypto bought in South Africa to externalise any right to capital without permission is a criminal offence; repatriating value through crypto is not permitted under the allowances.