A blank envelope and a blank sheet of paper beside a brass magnifying loupe on grey linen

Who this guide is for

You are thinking of using Bitget, or already do, and want to know where it stands with South African rules before you deposit rand. If you only want an exchange whose own South African company holds the licence, the FSCA-licensed exchanges guide lists the four we verified. Every fact below was read on the official page on 3 October 2026 unless another date is given; this is general information, not legal advice.

At a glance

Bitget and South African rules: what each official document says (Bitget pages read 3 October 2026; FSCA list titled March 2026, read 27 September 2026)
Question What the document says Document
May South Africans use Bitget? South Africa is not a Prohibited Country Bitget Terms of Use, last updated 15 September 2026
Does it take rand? “ZAR: South Africa” is a supported bank deposit and withdrawal currency Bitget help article, 20 February 2025
Which company do you contract with? BTG Technology Holdings Limited, under Hong Kong law Bitget Terms of Use
Is that company on the FSCA list? No FSCA list titled March 2026
Is any Bitget Group company on the list? Parsa Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, a Bitget Group subsidiary: entry 206, FSP 52563, Category I FSCA list titled March 2026; Bitget academy
Which company holds a South African crypto account? Not stated None of the Bitget pages we read

What South African rules require

Crypto asset service providers are licensed by the FSCA as financial services providers under the Financial Advisory and Intermediary Services (FAIS) Act. The FSCA’s update of 15 April 2026 reports 533 licence applications, 310 approved, 17 declined and 124 withdrawn as at 31 March 2026, and repeats that anyone conducting crypto asset services without a licence is subject to enforcement action. A licence is issued to a legal entity with an FSP number, a category and a list of authorised activities: Category I covers advice and intermediary services, and Category II adds discretionary investment management.

The duty to hold a licence falls on the provider. The FSCA releases we read are addressed to providers and say nothing about customers of offshore platforms.

Exchange control is a separate question from licensing. The South African Reserve Bank’s Financial Surveillance Department says the Exchange Control Regulations prohibit using crypto bought in South Africa to take capital out of the country without permission, a criminal offence, and that individuals may buy crypto assets from abroad within their single discretionary or foreign capital allowance. We found no official statement on how those rules treat a rand deposit made to an offshore exchange through a local payment provider such as Callpay, so ask your bank or an adviser before you fund an offshore account. The rules and their sources are summarised in is crypto legal in South Africa?, which also covers tax.

What Bitget’s own documents say

  • Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026). The contracting party is BTG Technology Holdings Limited and the Terms are governed by Hong Kong law. The Prohibited Countries include the United States and its territories, Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand; South Africa is not on the list. The Terms also require every user to comply with the law that applies to them.
  • Supported fiat regions. Bitget’s help article on bank deposits (20 February 2025) lists “ZAR: South Africa” among the currencies it supports for bank deposit and withdrawal.
  • South Africa buying page. Bitget’s page on buying Bitcoin in South Africa says “Bitget is legally accessible in South Africa”. That is Bitget’s own statement, not a regulator’s.
  • Licences page. Bitget lists two South African licences issued by the FSCA, a Financial Services Provider (crypto asset service provider) licence and an Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider licence, without naming the licensed entity or giving an FSP number.

What the FSCA’s list shows

The FSCA’s list of licensed crypto asset service providers dated March 2026 includes, as entry 206 in Section A, PARSA FINANCIAL SERVICES (PTY) LTD, FSP 52563, Category I (advice and intermediary services). Bitget’s academy describes Parsa as “a subsidiary of the Bitget Group” and names it as the provider of Stock+, Bitget’s stock-trading service. It is the only Bitget Group company we found on the list.

BTG Technology Holdings Limited, the operator named in Bitget’s Terms, does not appear on the March 2026 list.

Why the entity matters

A licence belongs to a company, not to a brand. What the FSCA licence brings, authorisation and conduct supervision of the licensed company plus its duties to verify clients and keep records, attaches to that company and to the services it is authorised to provide. If your crypto account is held by BTG Technology Holdings under Hong Kong law, a licence held by Parsa does not automatically extend to it. If Parsa is the company that serves South African crypto accounts, Bitget has not said so on the pages we read. The list records Parsa’s licence as Category I, advice and intermediary services.

That is why this site records Bitget’s licence status as “licensed through a group subsidiary, partially verified” and does not attach FSP 52563 to Bitget in its structured data. Once Bitget states which entity holds South African crypto accounts, the status can be settled either way.

How this compares with local exchanges

VALR, Luno, AltCoinTrader and Ovex hold FSCA licences in the names of the South African companies their customers contract with (FSP 53308, 53314, 53614 and 53922 on the FSCA’s March 2026 list), which is the simplest arrangement to check. Bitget offers a rand bank rail, more than 3,000 spot pairs quoted in crypto and USDT on 12 networks (public API, 3 October 2026), but no rand order book, and its licence sits with a group company whose role for your account is unconfirmed. Which trade-off matters depends on what you need; the best crypto exchanges guide compares them situation by situation, and the Bitget profile has every verified field with its date.

The September 2026 security incident

On 26 September 2026 Bitget announced that a security incident on 24 September had involved unauthorised transfers from its exchange hot wallets. It said trading and deposits continued, account balances were unaffected and its Protection Fund covered the impact. Withdrawals were to resume in phases, each at 08:00 UTC: BTC on 28 September, ETH networks on 29 September, USDT on 30 September, and other tokens, fiat (including rand bank withdrawals) and P2P on 2 October 2026. That is Bitget’s own account; the dated notice on this page shows the latest status we have read. The incident does not change the licence position above.

How to check before you deposit

  1. Open Bitget’s Terms of Use and note the contracting entity and the “last updated” date at the top.
  2. Search the FSCA’s most recently published list of licensed crypto asset service providers (check the date on the document) for FSP 52563 and for “BTG Technology”; read Sections C and D as well, which record lapsed and withdrawn licences.
  3. Ask Bitget support in writing which legal entity holds your crypto account and under which licence, and keep the reply.
  4. Keep your own records of deposits, withdrawals and support tickets.

What we could not verify

  • Which Bitget entity holds South African crypto accounts: Bitget has not stated it on the pages we read.
  • Whether Parsa’s Category I licence, or the over-the-counter derivatives licence on Bitget’s licences page, covers any service offered to South African crypto customers other than Stock+.
  • Which Bitget products beyond spot trading are open to South African residents.

Next steps

Bitget

Open Bitget (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may receive a commission if eligible activity qualifies under Bitget’s current programme terms. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

10% trading fee discount 10% trading fee discount available through the SwapSift Bitget link. Programme-level benefit; exact product scope not independently confirmed. Subject to Bitget’s current terms and eligibility.

Bitget notice (26 September 2026): Withdrawals resuming in phases after a security incident on 24 September 2026. Read the announcement

VALR

Open VALR (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may earn a commission from eligible trading activity. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

Luno

Open Luno (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may receive a reward if eligibility conditions are met. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

Referral code: YGAM59
Luno may require you to enter this referral code during the rewards flow to qualify for the current referral reward. Subject to Luno’s current referral programme terms and eligibility.

Frequently asked questions

Is Bitget banned in South Africa?

No. South Africa is not on the Prohibited Countries list in Bitget's Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026), which bars residents of places such as the United States, Canada, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand, and Bitget lists 'ZAR: South Africa' as a supported bank deposit and withdrawal currency. Being accessible is a different question from being licensed for your account.

Is Bitget regulated by the FSCA?

Through a group company, and only partly confirmed. Bitget's licences page lists an FSCA crypto asset service provider licence for South Africa, and the FSCA's March 2026 list includes its subsidiary Parsa Financial Services (Pty) Ltd, FSP 52563, Category I. Bitget's Terms still name BTG Technology Holdings Limited, which is not on the list, as the operator, and Bitget does not say which entity holds a South African crypto account.

What is Parsa Financial Services?

Parsa Financial Services (Pty) Ltd is a South African company that Bitget describes as a subsidiary of the Bitget Group. It is entry 206 on the FSCA's March 2026 list of licensed crypto asset service providers, FSP 52563, Category I (advice and intermediary services), and Bitget's academy names it as the provider of Stock+, Bitget's stock-trading service.

Is my money protected if I use Bitget from South Africa?

No page we read says South African accounts carry the protections of a locally licensed provider, and an FSCA licence does not insure balances anyway: it authorises and supervises the licensed entity. After its 24 September 2026 security incident Bitget said its Protection Fund covers the impact; that is Bitget's own statement, not a regulatory guarantee.

Can I use a South African bank account with Bitget?

Yes, after identity verification. Bitget's South Africa guide describes an online-banking deposit, which it calls EFTSecure (its Help Center names the provider Callpay), from major South African banks with a R180 minimum and a R179,000 daily limit, and withdrawals only to a bank account in your own name. The steps are in our Bitget ZAR deposit and bank withdrawal guides.

How we compare

We compare availability, licensing, fees, deposit and withdrawal methods and KYC requirements using official exchange documentation and regulator registers. Affiliate relationships never affect ranking or wording.

Read our methodology · How we review · How we make money

Risk warning

Crypto assets are volatile and you may lose all the money you put in. Platform availability, fees, licences and terms can change at any time and the information on this page may become outdated. Always verify terms directly with the provider before acting. This website does not provide personal financial advice.

Read the full risk warning

Sources

Primary sources checked for this page. Accessed dates are shown next to each link.

  1. Terms of Use (last updated 15 September 2026) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Contracting party BTG Technology Holdings Limited; governed by Hong Kong law; users must comply with all applicable law; the Prohibited Countries definition (Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, the United States and its territories and others) does not include South Africa.
  2. Regulatory licenses (South Africa: FSCA Financial Services Provider (CASP) and ODP licences) (opens in a new tab)Bitget · Exchange · accessed · Lists a South African Financial Services Provider (crypto asset service provider) licence and an Over-the-Counter Derivatives Provider licence, regulator FSCA; no entity or FSP number named.
  3. List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) · Regulator · accessed · Section A entry 206: PARSA FINANCIAL SERVICES (PTY) LTD, FSP 52563, Category I (advice and intermediary services). No entry for BTG Technology Holdings.
  4. Press release: Update on licensing and supervision of crypto asset service providers (15 April 2026, PDF) (opens in a new tab)Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) · Regulator · accessed · 533 applications, 310 approved, 17 declined and 124 withdrawn as at 31 March 2026; anyone conducting crypto asset services without a licence is subject to enforcement action.
  5. Bitget US stock trading guide (Does Bitget hold a brokerage license?) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Academy · Official documentation · accessed · States that Bitget Stock+ services are provided by Parsa Financial Services Pty Ltd, a subsidiary of the Bitget Group, licensed by the FSCA as FSP 52563.
  6. Which Countries or Regions Support Bank Deposits on Bitget? (2025-02-20) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Lists 'ZAR: South Africa' among the currencies supported for bank deposit and withdrawal.
  7. How to buy Bitcoin (BTC) in South Africa (opens in a new tab)Bitget · Exchange · accessed · States 'Bitget is legally accessible in South Africa' (Bitget's own statement on an automatically refreshed buying page).
  8. Bitget to Resume Withdrawals in Phases (announcement, 26 September 2026) (opens in a new tab)Bitget Support Center · Official documentation · accessed · Security incident of 24 September 2026; trading and deposits operating; balances unaffected; withdrawals resume in phases from 28 September to 2 October 2026 (08:00 UTC).
  9. Regulated entities (opens in a new tab)Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) · Regulator · accessed
  10. Financial Surveillance Department: frequently asked questions (crypto assets) (opens in a new tab)South African Reserve Bank (SARB) · Regulator · accessed · Exchange control: individuals may buy crypto assets abroad within the single discretionary or foreign capital allowance; using crypto bought in South Africa to externalise any right to capital without permission is a criminal offence; repatriating value through crypto is not permitted under the allowances.
  11. Spot API: public symbols (opens in a new tab)Bitget (api.bitget.com) · Exchange · accessed · 3,387 online spot pairs on 3 October 2026, none quoted in ZAR.
  12. Spot API: public coins (USDT chains) (opens in a new tab)Bitget (api.bitget.com) · Exchange · accessed · 12 USDT chains with fixed withdrawal fees; platform-wide list.