Data profile
AltCoinTrader in South Africa: availability, FSCA status, ZAR fees and KYC
AltCoinTrader for South Africans: FSCA licence FSP 53614, 0.50 % / 0.60 % entry tier, EFT 0.5 % (max R95), Capitec Pay, card and cash, R16 + 0.5 % to withdraw.
Direct answer
AltCoinTrader is run by AltCoin Trader (Pty) Ltd, a South African company listed as FSP 53614 on the FSCA's March 2026 list. It takes rand by EFT, Capitec Pay, Absa Pay, card and cash, and lets you deposit and trade before full verification, but its entry tier is 0.50 % maker / 0.60 % taker on every pair, EFT deposits cost 0.5 % (capped at R95) and each rand withdrawal costs R16 + 0.5 %.
As of 27 September 2026. Sources: List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)); Trading fees (AltCoinTrader); How do I deposit Rands into my account? (AltCoinTrader Help Centre)
Key facts (verified 3 October 2026)
- AltCoin Trader (Pty) Ltd is on the FSCA's March 2026 list as FSP 53614, Category I & II.
- Entry tier (R0–R100,000 30-day volume): 0.50 % maker / 0.60 % taker on every pair; the schedule falls to 0.00 % / 0.10 % above R100 million.
- ZAR deposits: EFT 0.5 % capped at R95, Capitec Pay 2 % capped at R95, Absa Pay 2.5 %, cards 5 % (local) or 7 % (international), cash an extra 5 %; no verification needed to deposit.
- ZAR withdrawals: R16 + 0.5 % (capped at R95), plus R60 or R140 for near-instant; beyond a once-off R100, withdrawals need FICA verification.
Partially verified· verified on 3 October 2026

This is a data profile, not a hands-on review. We only describe what we could verify from official sources.
Availability in South Africa
- Availability
- availableVerified
The terms name AltCoinTrader (Pty) Ltd, a South African company (registration 2015/418624/07, FSP 53614). ZAR is the only fiat currency on the fees page, and the near-instant withdrawal article says withdrawals go only to South African banks listed on the platform.
Source: altcointrader.co.za (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 2 January 2027 - Fiat currencies
- ZARVerifiedSource: altcointrader.co.za (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- ZAR deposits
- YesVerified
EFT to Standard Bank or Nedbank accounts, Capitec Pay; no amount limit on deposits and no verification needed to deposit.
Source: How do I deposit Rands into my account? (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - ZAR withdrawals
- YesVerified
To your registered bank account; processed through Standard Bank.
Source: How do I withdraw Rands from my account? (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
Regulation and licensing
- Regulator
- Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA)
- Licence status
- licensedVerified
Listed in the regulator register dated March 2026. Current status has not been independently reconfirmed since that list.
Entry 17 of the FSCA list of licensed CASPs titled March 2026: ALTCOIN TRADER (PTY) LTD, Category I & II.
Source: fsca.co.za (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · verified on 27 September 2026 · re-check due 27 December 2026 - Licence reference
- FSP 53614 (FSCA, Category I & II)Verified
Listed in the regulator register dated March 2026. Current status has not been independently reconfirmed since that list.
The FAIS disclosure document (re-read 3 October 2026) gives licence 53614 and registration 2015/418624/07; matches entry 17 of the FSCA register titled March 2026 (read 27 September 2026).
Source: FAIS disclosure document (AltCoinTrader) (opens in a new tab) (document dated March 2026) · retrieved 27 September 2026 · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 2 January 2027
What the licence list shows and how to check it yourself: FSCA-licensed crypto exchanges in South Africa.
ZAR deposit methods
EFT to the exchange’s Standard Bank or Nedbank account with a unique reference, or Capitec Pay (deposit article); the fees page adds Absa Pay and card payments via Stitch and cash deposits (5 % surcharge); crypto deposits free.
Source: altcointrader.zendesk.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026| Method | Fee | Minimum / limit | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| EFT (Standard Bank or Nedbank) | 0.5 %, maximum R95 per transaction | — | Standard Bank to Standard Bank within 24 hours inside cut-off times; other banks up to 72 hours (deposit help article) |
| Cash deposit | 0.5 % (maximum R95) plus an additional 5 % on all cash deposits | — | 24-hour hold on cash deposits over R25,000 in a 24-hour period |
| Capitec Pay via Stitch | 2 % of deposit, maximum R95 | — | — |
| Absa Pay via Stitch | 2.5 % of deposit | — | — |
| Card payments via Stitch | 5 % for local cards; 7 % for international cards | — | — |
- Minimum deposit
- UnknownData under review
No minimum deposit is printed. The deposit article (updated 6 July 2026) says "there is no amount limit on deposits", and the account-levels article lists "Unlimited deposits" for levels 1 to 3; neither names a minimum (both read 4 October 2026).
Source: How do I deposit Rands into my account? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 6 July 2026) · retrieved 4 October 2026
ZAR withdrawal methods
ZAR withdrawals to your own South African bank account in scheduled batches, or near-instant for an extra fee.
Source: altcointrader.zendesk.com (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026| Method | Fee | Minimum / limit | Processing time |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZAR withdrawal (scheduled) | R16 + 0.5 % (the 0.5 % capped at R95) | — | Scheduled processing runs via Standard Bank; other banks may take up to 72 hours (withdrawal help article) |
| Near-instant withdrawal | R16 + 0.5 % plus a R60 surcharge (R140 surcharge above R100,000) | — | Near-instant |
- Minimum withdrawal
- UnknownData under review
Official evidence found (document dated 7 July 2026), but its scope or current applicability is unclear, so it is not used as a value.
An official near-instant withdrawal article (updated 7 July 2026) still lists a R17 minimum, but the trading-fees page and the general "How do I withdraw Rands" article (updated 7 July 2026) state no minimum, so current applicability across withdrawal methods has not been independently confirmed. Not used as a value.
Source: Near-instant withdrawals (opens in a new tab) (document dated 7 July 2026) · retrieved 3 October 2026 - Crypto withdrawal networks and fees
- Fixed per-asset network fees published for 90+ assets, some marked dynamic (e.g. BTC 0.00012 BTC; ETH 0.0005 on Arbitrum, Base and Optimism, dynamic on BSC and ERC20; USDT 5 on TRC20, 2 on Arbitrum, Avalanche, NEAR, Optimism, Solana and TON); crypto deposits free.VerifiedSource: Trading fees (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
USDT (Tether)
Networks and fees as published by the platform. A variable fee is never shown as a number; a network missing from this list is unknown, not unsupported.
- USDT trading pairs
- USDT/ZARVerified
USDT is bought on the markets tab at a rand price, then used as the quote asset for USDT-priced altcoin markets. All pairs: 0.50 % maker / 0.60 % taker at Tier 1.
Source: How do I buy crypto using USDT? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 6 July 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026 - USDT deposit networks
- Arbitrum One, Avalanche, BNB Smart Chain (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), NEAR Protocol, Optimism, Solana, TON, Tron (TRC-20)VerifiedSource: Supported cryptocurrencies and networks (opens in a new tab) (document dated 23 September 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- USDT withdrawal fee by network
- Arbitrum One: 2 USDT · Avalanche: 2 USDT · NEAR Protocol: 2 USDT · Optimism: 2 USDT · Solana: 2 USDT · TON: 2 USDT · Tron (TRC-20): 5 USDT · BNB Smart Chain (BEP-20): Variable — verify current fee on the provider (about 4.2 USDT when read) · Ethereum (ERC-20): Variable — verify current fee on the provider (about 8.9 USDT when read)Verified
USDT deposits are free on every network.
Source: Trading fees (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026 - USDT minimum withdrawal
- UnknownData under review
No USDT minimum withdrawal is published on the trading-fees page or the supported-networks article.
Deposit and withdrawal troubleshooting facts
Processing windows, reference rules and recovery policy exactly as the platform publishes them. Unknown means the platform publishes nothing, not that no rule exists.
- ZAR deposit processing time
- Standard Bank to Standard Bank inside the 15:00 cut-off within 24 hours (longer than 48 hours outside it); other banks up to 72 hours; deposits after 15:00 on Friday are processed on Monday. A wrong-reference deposit is credited within up to 48 hours after proof of payment.VerifiedSource: When will my Rand deposit reflect in my AltCoinTrader account? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 3 January 2022) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- Deposit reference rule
- Use the nine-digit AltCoinTrader reference exactly, with nothing before or after it, from a saved beneficiary (not a once-off payment). Wrong reference: e-mail proof of payment with the correct reference from your registered e-mail address. Deposits of the same value within 24 hours may not be credited automatically.VerifiedSource: My ZAR deposit is not reflecting on my account? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 7 July 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- ZAR withdrawal processing schedule
- ZAR withdrawals run in three batches, 09:00, 13:00 and 16:00 Monday–Friday (none on weekends or public holidays); withdrawals not confirmed by e-mail link by 15:00 move to the next working day. Near-instant withdrawals under R250,000 run every 5–15 minutes but may take up to 24 hours at the bank; other banks up to 72 hours. "Withdrawals not permitted" appears for an unverified account, duplicate same-value deposits, a fraud flag, a limit, an e-mail change or a 24-hour hold after a password change.VerifiedSource: When will my ZAR withdrawal be processed? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 7 July 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 18 November 2026
- Wrong-network / wrong-address recovery policy
- UnknownData under review
No published recovery policy or fee for crypto sent to a wrong address or network; the supported-networks article says a query about a deposit or withdrawal on the incorrect network takes up to 10 working days to be answered. Contact official support.
Trading fees
- Maker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier)
- 0.5 %Verified
Tier 1 (R0–R100,000 30-day volume).
Source: altcointrader.co.za (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026 - Taker fee: general crypto/ZAR (entry tier)
- 0.6 %Verified
Tier 1 (R0–R100,000 30-day volume).
Source: altcointrader.co.za (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026 - Instant / simple buy
- 1.5 %VerifiedSource: How do I use the Easy buy and sell feature? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 6 July 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
- Fees differ by pair class
- NoVerified
One six-tier maker/taker schedule applies to all pairs.
Source: Trading fees (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 November 2026
KYC requirements
Levels from this article (edited 23 April 2026); documents from the ID-documents (27 May 2025), proof-of-address (6 July 2026), selfie (9 July 2026) and verification (6 July 2026) articles.
Source: What are the account levels? (opens in a new tab) (document dated 23 April 2026) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 2 January 2027Products
- Products
- Spot, Staking, SavingsVerified
Order-book spot trading with maker/taker tiers; the Easy Save page (earning on deposited crypto) showed "Savings is currently in maintenance" on 6 September and again on 3 October 2026.
Source: altcointrader.co.za (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026 - Spot trading
- YesVerifiedSource: Trading fees (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026
- Derivatives (futures / margin)
- NoPartially verified
Only a spot maker/taker schedule is published; no derivatives product page was found.
Source: Trading fees (opens in a new tab) · verified on 3 October 2026 · re-check due 3 December 2026 - Beginner friendly
- YesVerified
Editorial judgement per our methodology: FSCA-licensed South African entity with many ZAR deposit rails and a simple order book; note that deposit and trading fees are higher than at VALR or Luno.
Source: altcointrader.co.za (opens in a new tab) · verified on 6 September 2026 · re-check due 6 March 2027
We have no referral agreement with this exchange. Visit it directly from its official website.
Who AltCoinTrader may suit
- Users who want broad USDT network coverage: 9 verified deposit / withdrawal networks.
- Users who want a published, fixed USDT withdrawal fee per network rather than a fee quoted only at confirmation.
- Users who trade crypto/crypto pairs (e.g. BTC/USDT) on an order book with a verified rate rather than relying on ZAR spot pairs.
- Users who want to buy or sell USDT against rand on an order book with a verified entry-tier rate.
- Users who want rand to reflect within minutes to hours through a bank-login rail (instant EFT, Capitec Pay, Absa Pay or a bank-login deposit).
- Users who want a provider that appears on the FSCA list of licensed crypto asset service providers.
- First-time buyers who want a simple, locally licensed rand on-ramp (our editorial beginner criteria).
Who AltCoinTrader may not suit
No verified use case recorded yet.
Advantages
- FSCA-licensed South African entity (FSP 53614) with the widest range of ZAR deposit rails, including cash deposits.
- Rand deposits and trading are allowed before full FICA verification (crypto deposits need Level 2; withdrawals are limited until verified).
- Fixed crypto withdrawal fees published per asset and network.
Disadvantages
- Entry-tier fees of 0.50 % maker / 0.60 % taker: the highest maker rate among the licensed order books (Luno also charges 0.60 % taker on BTC/ZAR), plus a 0.5 % fee on EFT deposits.
- ZAR withdrawals cost R16 + 0.5 % and are processed in scheduled batches unless you pay for near-instant processing.
- The Easy Save (staking) product was in maintenance when checked.
What we could not verify yet
- Founding year is not stated on an official page (company registered in 2015).
- Whether an OTC desk is currently offered (the terms mention OTC accounts but no product page exists).
- Limits for cash and card deposits and for Level 4 verification are not published.
- The market list labels rand pairs as xZAR (AltCoinTrader’s rand-pegged stablecoin) while page titles say ZAR; whether rand trades settle in ZAR or xZAR is not stated.
- Minimum ZAR withdrawal: the near-instant withdrawal article (updated 7 July 2026) lists R17, but the fees page and the general withdrawal article state no minimum; applicability across methods unconfirmed, so no value is used.
Data confidence
Official-source coverage: HighData confidence measures how much of our core checklist is documented on current official sources. It is not an exchange quality score, a safety score, a hands-on test result or a recommendation.
- Core areas documented
- 6 / 6
- Availability
- Verified 3 October 2026
- Regulatory status
- Verified 3 October 2026
- Trading fees
- Verified 3 October 2026
- ZAR deposits
- Verified 3 October 2026
- ZAR withdrawals
- Verified 3 October 2026
- KYC requirements
- Verified 3 October 2026
- Affiliate terms
- Unknown
Unresolved questions
- Data under review Minimum deposit amount: No minimum deposit is printed. The deposit article (updated 6 July 2026) says "there is no amount limit on deposits", and the account-levels article lists "Unlimited deposits" for levels 1 to 3; neither names a minimum (both read 4 October 2026).
- Data under review Minimum withdrawal amount: An official near-instant withdrawal article (updated 7 July 2026) still lists a R17 minimum, but the trading-fees page and the general "How do I withdraw Rands" article (updated 7 July 2026) state no minimum, so current applicability across withdrawal methods has not been independently confirmed. Not used as a value.
- Data under review USDT minimum withdrawal: No USDT minimum withdrawal is published on the trading-fees page or the supported-networks article.
- Data under review Wrong-network / wrong-address recovery policy: No published recovery policy or fee for crypto sent to a wrong address or network; the supported-networks article says a query about a deposit or withdrawal on the incorrect network takes up to 10 working days to be answered. Contact official support.
- Founding year is not stated on an official page (company registered in 2015).
- Whether an OTC desk is currently offered (the terms mention OTC accounts but no product page exists).
- Limits for cash and card deposits and for Level 4 verification are not published.
- The market list labels rand pairs as xZAR (AltCoinTrader’s rand-pegged stablecoin) while page titles say ZAR; whether rand trades settle in ZAR or xZAR is not stated.
- Minimum ZAR withdrawal: the near-instant withdrawal article (updated 7 July 2026) lists R17, but the fees page and the general withdrawal article state no minimum; applicability across methods unconfirmed, so no value is used.
Hands-on testing: Not independently tested yet.
High means at least five of the six core areas are documented on current official sources with no conflicting core field. It does not mean every question is answered, that the exchange is safe or good, or that we have tested it. How data confidence is computed
The facts on this page, with sources and dates, as open data (CC BY 4.0): JSON · all exchanges and field definitions
Who operates it and what we read
AltCoinTrader (Pty) Ltd (registration 2015/418624/07) operates from South Africa, uses rand as its only fiat currency, and pays rand out only to South African banks listed on its platform. Its fee schedule, terms and help articles were re-read on the company’s own pages on 3 October 2026, and the FSCA licence entry on the regulator’s list titled March 2026 on 27 September 2026. Everything below comes from those pages. We have not opened an account.
Who it may suit
AltCoinTrader may suit a South African whose bank makes an ordinary EFT to an exchange awkward: Capitec and Absa customers can pay through Capitec Pay or Absa Pay via Stitch. It may also suit someone who wants to fund an account by card or cash, which VALR, Luno and Ovex either do not offer or offer only partially. It also lets you deposit and trade before completing full FICA verification (withdrawals are limited to a once-off R100 until you verify), which can matter if you want to see the platform before sending documents.
It is a weaker fit for cost-sensitive traders: the entry tier is 0.50 % / 0.60 %, EFT deposits cost 0.5 % (capped at R95) where VALR and Luno charge nothing, and every rand withdrawal costs R16 + 0.5 %. It publishes no futures or margin product, and its Easy Save (staking) product was in maintenance when we checked.
South Africa availability
The terms name AltCoinTrader (Pty) Ltd, registration 2015/418624/07 and FSP 53614, as the company you deal with. ZAR is the only fiat currency on its fees page, and its near-instant withdrawal article says withdrawals go only to South African banks listed on the platform. The deposit article lists Standard Bank and Nedbank accounts for EFTs and Capitec Pay as the third option.
Regulatory status
Entry 17 of the FSCA’s March 2026 list of licensed crypto asset service providers shows ALTCOIN TRADER (PTY) LTD, FSP 53614, Category I & II. The company’s FAIS disclosure document cites the same number. We read that entry on 27 September 2026, so the licence is verified as at the list titled March 2026; check fsca.co.za for any later list.
ZAR deposit methods and fees
- EFT to the exchange’s Standard Bank or Nedbank account with your nine-digit reference: 0.5 % capped at R95 per transaction. Standard Bank to Standard Bank deposits inside cut-off times are credited within 24 hours; outside cut-off times more than 48 hours; from other banks up to 72 hours.
- Cash at a bank branch: the 0.5 % (max R95) plus an additional 5 % on all cash deposits, and a 24-hour hold on cash deposits over R25,000 in a 24-hour period.
- Capitec Pay via Stitch: 2 % of the deposit, maximum R95.
- Absa Pay via Stitch: 2.5 % of the deposit.
- Card via Stitch: 5 % for local cards, 7 % for international cards.
No verification is needed to deposit and there is no amount limit on deposits. No minimum deposit is printed.
ZAR withdrawal methods and fees
Withdrawals go to a bank account you register on the platform; after you update banking details you must wait 24 hours before withdrawing. The fee is R16 + 0.5 %, with the 0.5 % capped at R95. Ticking “Near-Instant Withdrawal” adds R60, or R140 for amounts above R100,000. Withdrawals are processed through Standard Bank and the help article says payments to other banks may take up to 72 hours. A withdrawal requires a completed profile and, for any amount beyond a once-off R100, FICA verification.
The minimum withdrawal is unclear: the near-instant withdrawal article (updated 7 July 2026) still lists R17, but the trading-fees page and the general withdrawal article (updated 7 July 2026) state no minimum, so the profile records the R17 as evidence of unclear scope rather than as a confirmed value.
Trading fees
Six fee tiers on 30-day trading volume, updated daily, apply to every pair:
| Tier | 30-day volume | Maker | Taker |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | R0 – R100,000 | 0.50 % | 0.60 % |
| 2 | R100,000 – R1,000,000 | 0.40 % | 0.50 % |
| 3 | R1m – R10m | 0.20 % | 0.30 % |
| 4 | R10m – R100m | 0.10 % | 0.20 % |
| 5 | R100m – R250m | 0.00 % | 0.10 % |
| 6 | above R250m | −0.01 % | 0.05 % |
On a R10,000 taker order at Tier 1 the fee is R60; as a maker, R50. Add the R95-capped deposit fee and the R16 + 0.5 % withdrawal fee for a round trip. The Easy Buy & Sell screen charges a 1.5 % transaction fee on each buy or sell order, capped at 2 BTC per order.
KYC overview
FICA verification is required before withdrawing: proof of identity (South African ID book or card, South African or foreign passport, or asylum seeker permit), proof of residence (mostly under three months old), a colour selfie holding the ID with a handwritten note, a verified cellphone number and a completed profile. Level 1 allows deposits and trading and a once-off R100 withdrawal; Level 2 (documents verified) allows R200,000 per 24 hours; Level 3 (2FA active for a month) allows R1,000,000 per 24 hours.
Supported products
Order-book spot trading with the maker/taker tiers above; an Easy Save account that stakes balances on your behalf (showing “Savings is currently in maintenance” on 6 September and again on 3 October 2026); no futures or margin product published. Crypto deposits are free and crypto withdrawal fees are fixed per asset and network (some marked dynamic), for example 0.00012 BTC, 0.0005 ETH on Arbitrum, Base and Optimism, 5 USDT on TRC20 and 2 USDT on Arbitrum or Solana.
Limitations
Its 0.50 % entry-tier maker rate is the highest of the licensed order books we verified, its 0.60 % taker rate matches Luno’s on BTC/ZAR, and both deposits and withdrawals carry a percentage charge. Processing runs in scheduled batches unless you pay for near-instant service. The staking product was unavailable when checked. The licence is verified only to the FSCA’s March 2026 list.
What we could not verify
- The minimum ZAR withdrawal (conflicting reads; see above).
- Any spread inside Easy Buy & Sell prices (only the 1.5 % fee is published).
- Whether an OTC desk is currently offered.
- Limits for cash and card deposits and for Level 4 verification.
- The founding year (the company was registered in 2015).
Next steps
Compare it with the two cheaper licensed order-book platforms in VALR vs AltCoinTrader and Luno vs AltCoinTrader, or model a trade with its verified preset in the fee calculator. If the deposit rail is what matters, the instant EFT guide covers Capitec Pay and Absa Pay across platforms. To see where it sits among the other platforms by situation, read best crypto exchanges in South Africa.
Comparisons that include AltCoinTrader
Each comparison puts the verified fields of two platforms in one table. Listed alphabetically; commissions do not affect the order.
- Luno vs AltCoinTrader: Instant deposit rails, withdrawal costs and verification levels at two licensed exchanges that both take Capitec Pay.
- VALR vs AltCoinTrader: Two licensed order books with different rand rails: Capitec Pay and cash deposits against free EFT, plus futures and margin on one side only.
Frequently asked questions
Is AltCoinTrader FSCA licensed?
Yes. AltCoin Trader (Pty) Ltd appears as entry 17 on the FSCA's March 2026 list of licensed crypto asset service providers, FSP 53614, Category I & II. The company's FAIS disclosure document states the same FSP number.
What does AltCoinTrader charge to deposit rand?
0.5 % capped at R95 per EFT, plus 5 % on cash deposits. Capitec Pay via Stitch costs 2 % capped at R95, Absa Pay 2.5 %, and card payments 5 % for local or 7 % for international cards. Deposits are allowed before verification and have no amount limit.
How much is an AltCoinTrader withdrawal?
R16 plus 0.5 % of the amount, with the 0.5 % capped at R95. Near-instant withdrawals add R60, or R140 above R100,000. Withdrawals are processed through Standard Bank and other banks may take up to 72 hours.
How we compare
We compare availability, licensing, fees, deposit and withdrawal methods and KYC requirements using official exchange documentation and regulator registers. Affiliate relationships never affect ranking or wording.
Risk warning
Crypto assets are volatile and you may lose all the money you put in. Platform availability, fees, licences and terms can change at any time and the information on this page may become outdated. Always verify terms directly with the provider before acting. This website does not provide personal financial advice.
Sources
Primary sources checked for this page. Accessed dates are shown next to each link.
- List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- Trading fees (opens in a new tab)
- Terms and conditions (opens in a new tab)
- FAIS disclosure document (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- How do I deposit Rands into my account? (opens in a new tab)
- How do I withdraw Rands from my account? (opens in a new tab)
- How do I verify my AltCoinTrader account? (opens in a new tab)
- How do I use the Easy buy and sell feature? (opens in a new tab)
- What are the account levels? (opens in a new tab)
- What are the acceptable ID documents? (opens in a new tab)
- What are the acceptable proof of address documents? (opens in a new tab)
- Picture of yourself holding your ID (opens in a new tab)
- Near-instant withdrawals (opens in a new tab)
- When will my Rand deposit reflect in my AltCoinTrader account? (opens in a new tab)
- Easy Save (opens in a new tab)