A hand holding a smartphone with a blank screen above a desk with a blank bank card

Who this guide is for

You bank with Capitec and want to know which exchange will accept your money, what it will cost, how long it takes, and what to do when a deposit does not arrive. If you bank elsewhere, the bank-by-bank guide covers FNB, Absa, Standard Bank, Nedbank and the rest; if you only want the general picture of every rand rail, start with crypto deposit and withdrawal methods in South Africa.

Above R1,000, Luno’s Capitec Pay at a flat R9.00 is the cheapest instant route we have verified; a free EFT to VALR or Ovex would cost nothing to deposit, but neither platform confirms that Capitec accounts can send one. Every figure below was read on the exchanges’ official pages between 27 September and 3 October 2026, and each exchange’s data profile shows when its own figures were last verified.

Capitec compatibility by exchange

Buying crypto as a Capitec customer: Capitec Pay, EFT from Capitec, fees and timing by exchange, as each exchange states them (read 27 September to 3 October 2026)
Exchange Capitec Pay Ordinary EFT from Capitec Fee for a Capitec customer Time to reflect Source status
Luno Yes No (Luno does not accept EFTs from Capitec or Absa) 1.25 % up to R1,000; flat R9 over R1,000 Instant once approved in the Capitec app Verified on Luno’s help centre
AltCoinTrader Yes (via Stitch) Not stated: its deposit page offers its Standard Bank or Nedbank account, or Capitec Pay Capitec Pay 2 % capped at R95; EFT 0.5 % capped at R95 EFT from another bank: up to 72 hours; instant deposits the same business day (its deposit-timing article) Verified on AltCoinTrader’s fee page and help centre
VALR No Not stated: EFT from an account in your name; no bank list Free (card 3.9 % if you prefer) Up to 48 business hours (Standard Bank to Standard Bank is near immediate) Verified on VALR’s help centre
Ovex No Not stated: EFT is its only fiat rail; no bank list Free; R98 minimum deposit Up to 2 working days (generic article; partially verified) Verified in Ovex’s terms and fee page
Binance Not confirmed (named only in a 14 January 2026 promotion whose Capitec Pay guide no longer exists) Linked bank (Stitch), Absa Pay, bank transfer, card or Apple Pay Not published Not published Unknown; not on the FSCA list dated March 2026

“Capitec Pay” is Capitec’s own approve-in-the-app payment method. Capitec’s product page could not be read by us, so support for it is stated here as the exchanges describe it, not as a statement by the bank.

Luno: Capitec Pay instead of an EFT

Luno’s help centre is explicit: Capitec and Absa customers cannot make EFT deposits to Luno. Its alternatives are Capitec Pay, a card purchase or an EFT from an account at another bank, though its fee page lists card purchases as currently unavailable. With Capitec Pay:

  1. Verify your Luno account to at least Level 2 and have a South African ID number ready. Luno’s Capitec Pay article says Level 2 is enough; its instant-deposit article says fully verified, so check the app if linking fails.
  2. Open the Luno app, go to Portfolio, select your ZAR wallet and tap Deposit.
  3. Choose Capitec Pay, enter the amount and select Next. The first time, you approve linking your Capitec account in the Capitec banking app; Luno states a once-off R1.00 linking fee is taken from your bank account.
  4. Confirm the amount and fee, then approve the push notification in the Capitec app.
  5. The rand is credited immediately. Buy on the Exchange screen (BTC/ZAR at 0.60 % taker or 0.40 % maker; USDT/ZAR at 0.20 % taker with a 0.01 % maker rebate) or use the Portfolio buy button at 2 %.

Fee and limit: 1.25 % per deposit up to R1,000 and a flat R9 per deposit over R1,000, with a maximum of R100,000 per transaction. Luno’s Capitec Pay article, its Capitec/Absa article and its fee schedule now all give that limit.

Getting rand back out to Capitec: a normal withdrawal is free and takes up to two business days; an express withdrawal costs R20.00 because Capitec is on Luno’s list of real-time-clearing banks. Luno’s minimum rand withdrawal is R10.

AltCoinTrader: Capitec Pay or an EFT

AltCoinTrader’s deposit screen offers three rand options: its Standard Bank account, its Nedbank account, or CapitecPay. A Capitec customer can therefore:

  • Use Capitec Pay (choose Capitec Bank South Africa on the deposit page; Stitch processes the payment): 2 % of the deposit, capped at R95. Above R4,750 the cap makes this a flat R95.
  • Send an ordinary EFT to the Standard Bank or Nedbank account with your unique nine-digit reference as the beneficiary reference: 0.5 % capped at R95, and AltCoinTrader says deposits from banks other than Standard Bank can take up to 72 hours.

AltCoinTrader lets you deposit without verification and trade from Level 1 (a verified cellphone number and your ID number), but withdrawals are limited to R100 in total until FICA documents are verified. A rand withdrawal costs R16 + 0.5 % (the 0.5 % capped at R95); near-instant processing adds R60 under R100,000 or R140 over. Its near-instant withdrawal article lists a R17 minimum, but the fees page and the general withdrawal article state no minimum, so we do not treat R17 as confirmed for every method.

VALR and Ovex: free EFT, but Capitec is not named

VALR has no Capitec Pay, instant EFT or Absa Pay option on the pages we read. What it has is a free EFT with no VALR-imposed limit from a bank account in your own name: on the Deposit screen you select the bank you will pay from, then copy VALR’s banking details and your VR reference. VALR’s EFT article names no banks, so it does not confirm that a payment from a Capitec account will go through, although its proof-of-payment article (last edited March 2024) includes steps for Capitec customers. Capitec’s own update on payments to crypto exchanges could not be read when we checked on 4 October 2026. VALR says deposits from banks other than Standard Bank can take up to 48 business hours. A South African card costs 3.9 %, though VALR says a card deposit can also take up to one business day to reflect. Trading then costs 0.35 % taker on fiat-quoted pairs such as BTC/ZAR and USDT/ZAR. A fast (RTC) rand withdrawal costs R30; the first 30 normal withdrawals a month are free for individual clients.

Ovex accepts bank EFT only, from a local account in your own name, with zero deposit fees and a R98 minimum, and requires full verification before any deposit. Its pages do not name banks either. It has no order book: you accept a quote that already contains the cost, so its price cannot be compared to a maker/taker fee.

Buying bitcoin with Capitec

If your Capitec account can send an EFT to VALR, a free deposit followed by a BTC/ZAR order at 0.35 % taker (0.18 % maker) costs least in total: R35 on a R10,000 purchase. Among the confirmed routes, Luno’s Capitec Pay at R9 plus a 0.60 % taker order on the R9,991 left is about R69 in total, still below AltCoinTrader’s R95 cap plus 0.60 % on the R9,905 left (about R154). One-tap buy buttons cost more: 1.5 % at AltCoinTrader, 1.6 % at VALR and 2 % at Luno. The full walkthrough is in how to buy bitcoin with ZAR.

Buying USDT with Capitec

For stablecoins the ranking changes. Luno’s USDT/ZAR and USDC/ZAR pairs sit in its cheapest class at 0.20 % taker, so Capitec Pay at R9 plus 0.20 % on the R9,991 left is about R29 in total, which is cheaper than VALR’s free EFT plus 0.35 % (R35), and much cheaper than AltCoinTrader at 0.60 %. If you plan to send the USDT elsewhere, pick the network before you buy: at the FSCA-licensed platforms, withdrawal fees range from about 2 USDT to more than 8 USDT by network. See how to buy USDT in South Africa, the fee table in USDT/ZAR fees compared and the networks in how to withdraw USDT in South Africa.

Worked examples (assumptions, not quotes)

A Capitec customer depositing and buying once, assuming each deposit fee comes out of the amount deposited and ignoring spread, price movement and Capitec’s own charges:

  • R500 into bitcoin: Luno Capitec Pay 1.25 % = R6.25, then 0.60 % of R493.75 = R2.96: R9.21. AltCoinTrader Capitec Pay 2 % = R10, then 0.60 % of R490 = R2.94: R12.94. VALR EFT free, then 0.35 % = R1.75, but up to two business days.
  • R5,000 into bitcoin: Luno R9 + R29.95 = R38.95. AltCoinTrader R95 (cap) + R29.43 = R124.43. VALR R0 + R17.50 = R17.50 (slow).
  • R5,000 into USDT: Luno R9 + R9.98 = R18.98. VALR R0 + R17.50 = R17.50 (slow). AltCoinTrader R95 + R29.43 = R124.43.

You can run your own amounts through the fee calculator; it models a percentage trading fee and a flat withdrawal fee, so add the deposit fee yourself.

KYC and limits that apply to Capitec customers

  • Luno: its Capitec Pay article asks for Level 2 or above and a South African ID (its instant-deposit article says fully verified). Level 1 allows R15,000 of lifetime deposits and withdrawals, Level 2 R50,000 per month, full verification no limit; each Capitec Pay deposit is capped at R100,000.
  • AltCoinTrader: no verification and no amount limit to deposit; trading is unlimited from Level 1; withdrawals R100 in total until FICA approval, then R200,000 per 24 hours at Level 2 and R1,000,000 at Level 3.
  • VALR: full verification (government ID plus tax information) before any deposit; no VALR limit on EFT deposits, though your bank may apply its own.
  • Ovex: full verification before any deposit.

VALR, Luno and Ovex pay rand only to a South African bank account in your own name, and AltCoinTrader to the account registered on your profile, so the Capitec account you deposit from should be the one you plan to withdraw to.

Troubleshooting

  • EFT to Luno not credited. Luno does not accept EFTs from Capitec; contact Luno support with proof of payment and use Capitec Pay next time.
  • Capitec Pay will not link on Luno. Check your Luno verification level (Level 2 or above per the Capitec Pay article; fully verified per the instant-deposit article) and that you approved the linking prompt in the Capitec app; Luno takes a once-off R1.00 from your bank account when the link is made.
  • Deposit at VALR or AltCoinTrader is slow. Interbank EFTs take up to 48 business hours (VALR) or 72 hours (AltCoinTrader). Check that you used the exact VR or nine-digit reference and paid from an account in your own name; VALR asks you to wait 48 hours before contacting support.
  • Capitec Pay deposit failed but money left the account. Both Luno and AltCoinTrader process Capitec Pay through Stitch; keep the Capitec transaction reference and contact the exchange’s support.
  • Deposit past the window. Follow the diagnostic order in crypto deposit not showing.
  • Withdrawal to Capitec seems stuck. Normal withdrawals batch on the exchange’s schedule; see common causes of a pending withdrawal.

Limitations of this guide

We have not opened accounts or made deposits on any platform; every number is copied from the pages listed under sources on the date shown. Capitec’s own documentation could not be read, so nothing here is a statement by Capitec. Binance’s bank coverage and rand fees are unpublished (Capitec Pay is not confirmed as a current rail), and Binance is not on the FSCA’s March 2026 list of licensed providers. Fees are re-checked on a 30-day window; the profile pages show the exact re-check date for each figure.

Next steps

Luno

Open Luno (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may receive a reward if eligibility conditions are met. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

Referral code: YGAM59
Luno may require you to enter this referral code during the rewards flow to qualify for the current referral reward. Subject to Luno’s current referral programme terms and eligibility.

VALR

Open VALR (Sponsored link)

Referral link. SwapSift may earn a commission from eligible trading activity. SwapSift does not charge you for using it; the provider sets its own pricing, promotions and eligibility. How we make money

Frequently asked questions

Can I buy crypto with Capitec?

Yes. Luno and AltCoinTrader accept Capitec Pay directly from the Capitec app. VALR and Ovex take ordinary EFTs from an account in your own name but do not say whether a Capitec account can send one, and Luno's help centre says Capitec customers cannot EFT to Luno at all.

Which crypto exchange is best for Capitec customers?

For a deposit above R1,000, Luno's Capitec Pay at a flat R9 is the cheapest route we have confirmed, and AltCoinTrader's Capitec Pay costs 2 % up to R95. An EFT to VALR would be free and its BTC/ZAR taker fee is 0.35 %, but VALR does not confirm that Capitec accounts can send one. We have not opened accounts on these platforms.

How do I buy Bitcoin with Capitec Pay on Luno?

Verify your Luno account to Level 2 or higher (Luno's instant-deposit article says fully verified), open the ZAR wallet, choose Deposit, select Capitec Pay, enter the amount, approve the push notification in the Capitec app (a once-off R1 linking fee applies the first time), then buy BTC on the Exchange screen at 0.60 % taker or 0.40 % maker, or through the Portfolio buy button at 2 %.

Can I buy USDT with Capitec?

Yes. Fund Luno with Capitec Pay and buy on the USDT/ZAR order book at 0.20 % taker (makers receive a 0.01 % rebate), or, if your bank lets you EFT to VALR, use its USDT/ZAR pair at 0.35 % taker. AltCoinTrader also lists USDT, at 0.60 % taker after a 2 % or 0.5 % deposit fee.

Why does my Capitec deposit to Luno not reflect?

If you sent an ordinary EFT, Luno will not credit it, because Luno does not accept EFTs from Capitec or Absa accounts; contact Luno support with your proof of payment. If you used Capitec Pay, check that you approved the push notification in the Capitec app and that your Luno account is at Level 2 or above, as Luno's Capitec Pay article requires.

How we compare

We compare availability, licensing, fees, deposit and withdrawal methods and KYC requirements using official exchange documentation and regulator registers. Affiliate relationships never affect ranking or wording.

Read our methodology · How we review · How we make money

Risk warning

Crypto assets are volatile and you may lose all the money you put in. Platform availability, fees, licences and terms can change at any time and the information on this page may become outdated. Always verify terms directly with the provider before acting. This website does not provide personal financial advice.

Read the full risk warning

Sources

Primary sources checked for this page. Accessed dates are shown next to each link.

  1. How do I deposit using Capitec Pay? (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 29 April 2026: via Stitch; once-off R1.00 linking fee; South African ID number required; Level 2 or above; 1.25 % per deposit up to R1,000 and R9 over R1,000; R100,000 per transaction; credited once approved in the Capitec app.
  2. Bank transfers from Capitec and Absa are not available (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 29 September 2026: no EFT deposits from Capitec or Absa accounts; alternatives are Capitec Pay (up to R100,000), Absa Pay, a card purchase or an EFT from another bank.
  3. How do I make a deposit via bank transfer in South Africa? (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 29 April 2026: repeats the Capitec/Absa note; BX/LN reference; own-name account.
  4. Luno fees and limits in South Africa (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Re-read 3 October 2026 (last edited 29 September 2026): deposit fee table, Exchange tiers by pair class, withdrawal fees, verification limits; card purchases listed as currently unavailable.
  5. Are there any withdrawal limits? (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 16 September 2026: South Africa minimum withdrawal R10; the fee is added on top of the amount.
  6. Express withdrawals - fees and processing times explained (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 29 January 2026: Capitec Bank is an RTC participant, so an express withdrawal costs R20.00.
  7. How do I deposit Rands into my account? (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 6 July 2026: Standard Bank account, Nedbank account or CapitecPay; nine-digit reference; no verification and no amount limit to deposit; 0.5 % fee (maximum R95); EFTs from other banks up to 72 hours.
  8. Trading fees (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader · Exchange · accessed · Re-read 3 October 2026: ZAR deposit fees EFT 0.5 % (maximum R95), Capitec Pay via Stitch 2 % (maximum R95), Absa Pay 2.5 %, card 5 % / 7 %; withdrawal R16 + 0.5 %.
  9. Near-instant withdrawals (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 7 July 2026: +R60 under R100,000, +R140 over; this near-instant withdrawal article lists a R17 minimum whose applicability to other methods is not confirmed elsewhere.
  10. How to deposit Rand (ZAR) using a Bank account? (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 17 September 2025: select the bank you deposit from, VR reference, no VALR deposit limit for EFT, own-name account.
  11. How long does it take for my Rand (ZAR) deposit to reflect in my VALR account? (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 24 October 2024: Standard Bank to Standard Bank near immediate; other banks up to 48 business hours; contact support only after 48 hours.
  12. What are VALR's charges? (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Re-read 3 October 2026 (last edited 21 September 2026): EFT deposits free; South African card 3.9 %; 30 free normal withdrawals per month, then R8.50; fast withdrawal R30.
  13. OVEX exchange general terms of service (v1.9, PDF) (opens in a new tab)Ovex · Official documentation · accessed · Bank EFT is the only supported fiat payment method.
  14. Crypto Exchange in South Africa | Buy BTC & ETH with ZAR on Binance (opens in a new tab)Binance · Exchange · accessed · Instant EFT and bank transfer are offered; no bank list and no fee for Capitec customers is published.
  15. List of licensed crypto asset service providers – March 2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) · Regulator · accessed · Luno, AltCoinTrader, VALR and Ovex are listed; Binance is not.
  16. I have made a fiat deposit but the funds are not reflecting in my account? (opens in a new tab)Ovex Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Read 3 October 2026: generic fiat-deposit article using ZAR as its example: some deposits take up to 2 working days; most take at least 48 hours, excluding weekends and public holidays, to allocate.
  17. How do I make an instant deposit in South Africa? (opens in a new tab)Luno Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 23 April 2026: says Capitec Pay needs a fully verified account with a South African ID number.
  18. How to deposit Rands using Capitec Pay (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 6 July 2026: choose Capitec Bank South Africa, then Deposit with Capitec Pay, which redirects to Stitch; no timing is stated.
  19. What are the account levels? (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 23 April 2026: Level 1 trades and deposits without limit, R100 of withdrawals ever; Level 2 R200,000 per 24 hours; Level 3 R1,000,000 per 24 hours.
  20. How to deposit and buy crypto on VALR using South African credit or debit cards? (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 23 January 2026: 3.9 % card fee; a card deposit can take up to one business day to reflect.
  21. Does VALR offer free Rand (ZAR) withdrawals? (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 18 May 2026: 30 free normal withdrawals per calendar month for individual clients.
  22. Fees (opens in a new tab)Ovex · Exchange · accessed · Re-read 3 October 2026: zero deposit fees on all rails; ZAR deposit minimum R98.
  23. VERIFICATION LEVELS EXPLAINED (opens in a new tab)Ovex Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Read 3 October 2026: Levels 1 and 2 cannot deposit or withdraw; Level 3 can.
  24. When will my Rand deposit reflect in my AltCoinTrader account? (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Last edited 3 January 2022: Standard Bank to Standard Bank within 24 hours inside the 15:00 cut-off, longer than 48 hours outside it; other banks up to 72 hours; instant deposits the same business day; Friday after 15:00 is processed on Monday.
  25. How to deposit Rand (ZAR) using a bank account (last edited 17 September 2025) (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Select the bank you will deposit from; always transfer from a bank account registered in your name. No bank is named.
  26. Where do I find proof of payment (PoP) from my bank? (last edited 12 March 2024) (opens in a new tab)VALR Help Center · Official documentation · accessed · Includes steps for Capitec Bank customers to resend a payment notification for a payment to VALR.
  27. How do I deposit Rands into my account? (last edited 6 July 2026) (opens in a new tab)AltCoinTrader Help Centre · Official documentation · accessed · Deposit options: its Standard Bank account, its Nedbank account, or Capitec Pay; no statement on EFTs from Capitec accounts.
  28. How to Deposit ZAR to Binance via Card or Apple Pay? (published 2026-07-31, updated 2026-08-06) (opens in a new tab)Binance Support (en-ZA) · Official documentation · accessed · Deposit ZAR by card or Apple Pay in the app; the fee appears in the payment details before you pay; Google Pay is not supported.